fuel injection 302 to 460 eng swap - 460 Ford Forum
Engine Tech A place to discuss all 385-series engine tech and theory.

User Tag List

 
LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
post #1 of 13 (permalink) Old 02-21-2010, 08:56 PM Thread Starter
Junior Member
 
BBFORDguy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: central IL
Posts: 6
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
 
fuel injection 302 to 460 eng swap

i have a 92 ford bronco f.i. taking body putting it on a 1978 f-250 frame that's been cut for a 1980 bronco, with a 460 in it.the 94 &earlier 302 firing order is 1542638 the same as the 460 firing order. im taking a 1996 f.i. 460 and putting it on the f-250 frame, just wondering will the computer think this motor still is a 302, another possibility im getting all the wiring and the computer off the 1996 would the computer plug into the 92 bronco harness.any help would be great.thanks
BBFORDguy is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 13 (permalink) Old 02-21-2010, 10:28 PM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Mississauga, Ontario
Posts: 687
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7 Post(s)
 
The 302 EEC won't be tuned correctly for the 460. There was a thread here somewhere about that. If it were me, I would get a MAF EEC from the 5.0HO and get a tweecer. That would allow you to make the changes necessary.

T120r
t120r is offline  
post #3 of 13 (permalink) Old 02-21-2010, 10:35 PM Thread Starter
Junior Member
 
BBFORDguy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: central IL
Posts: 6
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
 
would the 96 computer be better
BBFORDguy is offline  
post #4 of 13 (permalink) Old 02-21-2010, 10:50 PM
Senior Member
 
Gearhead559's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Rob from OHIO!
Posts: 1,941
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
 
Send a message via AIM to Gearhead559 Send a message via Yahoo to Gearhead559
the 96 computer is not any better. run the 5.0 eec a9l ecu and have it chipped. you can use a 460 efi dizzy. and stay away form the tweeker. i have seen a few guys trying to get there stuff tuned with it, but it just was not doing the job. just have the thing dyno tuned and chip the a9l...you can also use the a9s

The heartbeat stops here!
I bleed blue oval blue, and **** hugger orange!
www.gearheadzautomotive.com
http://i5.photobucket.com/albums/y19...sigpiccopy.jpg
Gearhead559 is offline  
post #5 of 13 (permalink) Old 02-22-2010, 04:07 AM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 373
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
 
if you cant learn how to tune it yourself then yea get it dyno tuned and they will A. chip it OR B. tune it with a tweecer, QH or somethign like that maybe even want you to buy it. and it will probably take multiple trips to the dyno because they can't tune for every load and every temp and every cold start condition ect, ect, ect. if you want to go this route GO TALK TO THE SHOP THAT WILL BE DOING THE TUNE. ask them what THEY like to tune with.

or you could go stand alone and throw the MAF in the trash (what im doing)
bbfhnj is offline  
post #6 of 13 (permalink) Old 02-22-2010, 07:14 PM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Mississauga, Ontario
Posts: 687
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7 Post(s)
 
Which Standalone are you going with?

T120r
t120r is offline  
post #7 of 13 (permalink) Old 02-22-2010, 07:24 PM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 373
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
 
megasquirt 2. i get full control over fuel and timing. this standalone has been used in cars making over 1000hp and is nhra legal. one thing it will not do it sefi.
bbfhnj is offline  
post #8 of 13 (permalink) Old 02-22-2010, 08:47 PM Thread Starter
Junior Member
 
BBFORDguy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: central IL
Posts: 6
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
 
whats the cost of the mega squirter?
BBFORDguy is offline  
post #9 of 13 (permalink) Old 02-22-2010, 09:36 PM
Member
 
jkkj's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: southern ohio
Posts: 110
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
 
I have a tweecer on a supercharged 302. You could do 460 with a tweecer, but it would requirer a lot of story telling, and fake numbers to get you to the goal you want. You can turn most all of the functions off. You can break it down to just dictating fuel in an open loop, and dictate timing. You may find it to be to much control over what goes on. Most have a hugh learning curve with it.

I would think it would be easier to use a stand alone. The ones I have seen used are easier to tune than my tweecer.

A chip would be a good option if you had someone around that could do it. There would just be no changing it for tune after you get it. That can be good or bad.
jkkj is offline  
post #10 of 13 (permalink) Old 02-22-2010, 09:46 PM Thread Starter
Junior Member
 
BBFORDguy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: central IL
Posts: 6
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
 
this may be a dumb ? whats a tweecer!
BBFORDguy is offline  
post #11 of 13 (permalink) Old 02-22-2010, 11:57 PM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Mississauga, Ontario
Posts: 687
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7 Post(s)
 
Tweecer is a piggyback unit that plugs into the EEC and allows you to override most of the settings.

I looked into the megasquirt, but I got an amazing deal on an AEM EMS. SO I'm going that route.

T120r
t120r is offline  
post #12 of 13 (permalink) Old 02-23-2010, 04:45 PM
Member
 
jkkj's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: southern ohio
Posts: 110
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
 
Quote:
Originally Posted by BBFORDguy View Post
this may be a dumb ? whats a tweecer!
www.tweecer.com
jkkj is offline  
post #13 of 13 (permalink) Old 02-27-2010, 11:00 AM Thread Starter
Junior Member
 
BBFORDguy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: central IL
Posts: 6
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
 
thanks

hey guys thanks for all your help, i found a old holley pro-jection 4 stand- alone fuel injection set up. does anybody think these are any good.
BBFORDguy is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the 460 Ford Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in









Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools Search this Thread
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome