460 Ford Forum banner

Blower motor question????

4K views 9 replies 4 participants last post by  Epyon 
#1 ·
I've got a thunder jet 429 untouched DOVE block and heads, I have a 460 crank ready for the build. I'm looking at putting a 8-71 blower on it and have a few questions. ill be putting forged rods and pistons in but need to know how I'm gonna get my compression down to 8:1 or so. id like to keep the 460 crank since I've already got it and its been ground and polished ready to go.

can someone set me up with a rod and piston combo that would work with my crank and heads? and what thickness head gasket and deck height should be? any pistons i see only get down to 22cc dish and thats still puts me around 9.5 on the comp calculator. can i use 8.7" rods with the appropriate piston with a 460 crank? because the pistons for 8.7" rods get to 39cc dish which would help a lot.

this motor is more less for show, I'm not looking at high numbers or a monster at the track. I'm kinda new to this forced induction stuff and don't have much knowledge on it so go easy on me.

#2 · (Edited)
I've got a thunder jet 429 untouched DOVE block and heads, I have a 460 crank ready for the build. I'm looking at putting a 8-71 blower on it... ill be putting forged rods and pistons in but need to know how I'm gonna get my compression down to 8:1 or so.

can someone set me up with a rod and piston combo that would work with my crank and heads? and what thickness head gasket and deck height should be? any pistons i see only get down to 22cc dish and thats still puts me around 9.5 on the comp calculator. can i use 8.7" rods with the appropriate piston with a 460 crank?

This motor is more less for show, I'm not looking at high numbers or a monster at the track...

Use the cheap and plentiful (ported) D3VE head @ 95cc with the KB Icon IC635 (15cc dish) and you can manage 8.8:1.