460 Ford Forum banner

New guy wants advice on blown 460

1K views 5 replies 3 participants last post by  billyboy132 
#1 ·
OK guys here goes. I'm new to 460's and blown motors. We trashed our alcohol injected 302 in our altered and my dad and brother dont want to run alky anymore! So we decided to step up to a 460 with the intention of building a blown motor. The old 302 was just shy of 600hp on alky and in the meantime we are running a borrowed 400 chevy dyno'd at 537hp on gas which a friend has spare. I have a 460 in the garage and want to make sense of where to go with it. Go easy on me, i know some of my questions may be repeats, and some of my ideas may be different to others, or maybe even seems stupid. If so, tell me politely please!!

So the known entities at the moment are:

Chromoly tube chassis with austin bantam replica body - I dont have an exact weight but i know its below 800kg (1763lbs)as was. I appreciate the 460 will add some weight
I have what appears to be a 1987 460 engine, head casting number is E7TE which from reading would indicate a FI engine. However, form reading, and i stand corrected, if the valve cover bolts around the perimeter of the head its a carburetor head?? Also, i have a blower manifold sat on it which fits fine.
As much as i want to take this engine as far as possible in time. Finances are limited and the first incarnation of the engine will need to be relatively mild. I would like SCJ or fancier heads in the future but racing is a hobby and i dont have a pile of gold to throw at the engine. I know some will say blown 460 and cheap dont fit in the same sentence, and ive seen some forums where people have been pretty harsh about that!

So from reading so far this is what i understand. Again, please correct me and give me pointers based on your skills and experience.