460 Ford Forum banner

96 F350 wont pull

8K views 38 replies 9 participants last post by  John Saxon 
#1 ·
Evening all,
Thanks for letting me come aboard.
I'm a technician at an agriculture shop, so know my way around a wrench and a test light but this old Ford has me wondering which approach to take.
Its a 1996 F350, 460, ZF5, 4wd with 4.10's. I bought it last year and immediately gave it a thorough tune up... plugs, wires, cap, rotor and fuel filter. The previous owner had already installed a high flow air filter and removed the restrictions in the air tubes. The truck has 170,000 miles on it, doesn't leak a drop of oil, used less than 1/2 quart of oil between changes, don't smoke, rattle or give any indication of a problem. It will run 85 mph down the freeway all day long without missing a beat. Until I hook it to my 16' enclosed trailer... (trailer wt=2200, RZR=1200... not a lot). The old girl is working HARD to maintain 60. So, I removed the catalytic converter (that was already hallowed out)
I know its 20 years old, its got some miles and its a barn door against the wind.... but I think there is something simple I'm overlooking... fuel pressure at WOT? Could my o2 sensors be causing a lean condition at speed? Wouldn't that throw a CEL? Its a SD system, so I'm not real familiar with it.... that's why I'm here.
RHP builds a great package for EFI 460's, and I may go that direction in the future, but for now I'd like to use what I have to get the weekend toy hauling done.
Its hard to diagnose over the web, I get it. Any help is appreciated.
Thanks

See less See more
#2 ·
Not trying to get off track but do you know the trailer is in good shape? No trailer brakes sticking or wheels otherwise hard to turn? Has the truck pulled other trailers in the past with the same slow result?