Can I re-use the original head bolts? - 460 Ford Forum
Engine Tech A place to discuss all 385-series engine tech and theory.

User Tag List

 
LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
post #1 of 13 (permalink) Old 01-12-2006, 07:25 AM Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 1,603
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
 
Can I re-use the original head bolts?

Can I re-use head bolts?
Mild 10:1 466.
Ive had the heads off twice now.
Phil is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 13 (permalink) Old 01-12-2006, 07:50 AM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Iberia, MO
Posts: 1,178
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
 
Yes the big 9/16 head bolts would probably outlast the threads in the block if the truth be told.

Bret
Bret Powell is offline  
post #3 of 13 (permalink) Old 01-12-2006, 08:08 AM
TopSportsman916
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Mentioned: Post(s)
Tagged: Thread(s)
Quoted: Post(s)
Headbolts

From my experiences I would have to say no. I have had blown head gaskets due to stretched head bolts with SBF's & my 557. For no more money than a set of ARP head bolts cost, it just makes sense to switch. If you can use studs then that is definitely the way to go. I haven't had a problem since. Just my opinion from learning the hard way. Good luck.
post #4 of 13 (permalink) Old 01-12-2006, 09:22 AM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Merkel Texas
Posts: 527
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
 
Call me anal, but I toss all the OEM bolts. I use ARP, and I prefer studs to bolts. And on about my 5th reuse of an ARP bolt, I think about tossing them. Sure - if you use studs you might have a problem pulling a head with the motor in the car. However, the way I look at it is if the thing is so screwed up that I feel the need to pull a head, I'll just yank the motor.

1967 Falcon 4 door
Owner built, owner abused.
http://raceabilene.com/misc/hisnherspic.jpg
Falcon67 is offline  
post #5 of 13 (permalink) Old 01-12-2006, 10:07 AM Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 1,603
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
 
When in doubt, do the painful thing is usually the answer

I wiped my cam so I am trying to save money where I can in round 2.
Cheap insurance is $40. An additional cost is anything over that.
Anyway, its still cheaper than round 3 with this thing.
Phil is offline  
post #6 of 13 (permalink) Old 01-12-2006, 10:58 AM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Alabama
Posts: 512
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
 
I'm with Bret, re-use them if they look good....

If they are pitted by rust or damaged, I would replace them. If they look new and have been kept well oiled, I would use them. I never bought any new bolts or studs on my 466 with 14:1. Just 145 ft-lb in several steps in the correct sequence. I even re-used the Fel-Pro head gaskets over and over. On my 641", 16.5:1, Yes, I use studs, but I will re-use my head gaskets.

David Willingham
Advanced Motorsports Engineering
ProF100 is offline  
post #7 of 13 (permalink) Old 01-12-2006, 11:01 AM
Premium Member
 
Paul Kane's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Bay Area, CA
Posts: 5,360
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7 Post(s)
           
Mild 466 with 10:1? Sure, you can reuse your old headbolts. Ford 460's came from the factory with more compression than that.

I know plenty of people running their 466's/oem head bolts with more compression that your motor, and they run the engine at a sustained 5500 rpm all day long, and they have block cooling system pressures that exceed 25 psi, sometimes more. No problems.

Chances are that if you can't get the Grade 8 135 foot-pound clamping force oem headbolts to work in an NA application, the problem/culprit is more than likely elsewhere.

Paul

We're On The Web; Click Below:
High Flow Dynamics
Performance Components for the 429/460 Engine Family
Paul Kane is offline  
post #8 of 13 (permalink) Old 01-12-2006, 11:03 AM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Livermore Ky
Posts: 8,409
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 27 Post(s)
        
10/1 was about the stock ratio in 1970 . Soooo , the stock bolts will work . I have use the stock units at 12.5/1 w/o issue .
Lem Evans is online now  
post #9 of 13 (permalink) Old 01-12-2006, 11:45 AM
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Harmony, PA
Posts: 49
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
 
Impact gun

I've always wondered if using an impact wrench when removing the heads would twist up the bolts.
XEngr is offline  
post #10 of 13 (permalink) Old 01-12-2006, 01:01 PM Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 1,603
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
 
Ordered em, $158.39

I'm pissing cash, so hey why not?

My wiped cam repair total is up to $697 and I still need fluids, a timing cover and paint. Pricey learning curve.

I just wonderd at how many removal cycles bolt stretch/fatigue would be an issue?
Phil is offline  
post #11 of 13 (permalink) Old 01-12-2006, 01:08 PM
Forum Contributor
 
chilly's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 1,204
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
 
I would personally re-use them. Head bolts, yes...main bolts, no.

I have a tendency to always err on the side of caution which gets very expensive if you look cumulatively.
chilly is offline  
post #12 of 13 (permalink) Old 01-12-2006, 03:58 PM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: MO
Posts: 258
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
 
bolts

This is my third tare down (same bolts) i'm re-using mine! 14.5 comp, head gasket's look good. as long as the head add block are flat and the threads are good and clean. so you get the proper torque I see no problem. good luck. Ed.

''If you didn't Build-It'' It ain't Racing!
Ed Kinnard is offline  
post #13 of 13 (permalink) Old 01-13-2006, 08:22 PM
Forum Contributor
 
Greg_P's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 1,957
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
 
What a joke

So, how much will a 9/16" grade 8 bolt stretch? At which point will it stretch beyond its yeild point?

Geez, those are the strongest head bolts I have ever seen, and I suspect that they will outlive any engine they are used on, within reason.

Don't torque 'em with moly, use 30 wt oil, and enjoy the 150.00 savings on needless upgraded headbolts.

Greg

In Limbo at all times
Greg_P is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the 460 Ford Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in









Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools Search this Thread
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome