Lockup torque converter in a C6?? - 460 Ford Forum
Driveline Transmission, Clutch, Gearing, etc...

User Tag List

 
LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
post #1 of 13 (permalink) Old 03-24-2012, 10:04 PM Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
76ford466's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Honaker, VA
Posts: 409
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
 
Lockup torque converter in a C6??

I never have really heard anyone talk of putting a lockup convrtor in a C6. maybe Ive missed this but do they make them? It seems alot of drivablity could be had from a lockup style and more power put to the ground.
76ford466 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 13 (permalink) Old 03-24-2012, 11:30 PM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Moose Jaw Saskatchewan Canada
Posts: 365
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
 
Quote:
Originally Posted by 76ford466 View Post
I never have really heard anyone talk of putting a lockup convrtor in a C6. maybe Ive missed this but do they make them? It seems alot of drivablity could be had from a lockup style and more power put to the ground.
It can't be done.



The only way is to install an E4OD.

But then you will need a controller.

Wrench twister since 1957.
Journeyman in 1964.
Transmission builder since 1964.
stuarta is offline  
post #3 of 13 (permalink) Old 03-25-2012, 12:57 AM
Senior Member
 
richter69's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: sniffin' out the procomp threads
Posts: 6,392
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
 
what he said ^^^^^^

69 Grande'
P51 headed 563
3070#'s
5.15 @ 134.89
richter69 is offline  
post #4 of 13 (permalink) Old 03-25-2012, 08:46 PM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 280
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
 
Will an E4OD last behind a 700hp BBF?What about a converter that will stall to 3500 in a 3600lb car?
ITSA 91 is offline  
post #5 of 13 (permalink) Old 03-25-2012, 10:34 PM Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
76ford466's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Honaker, VA
Posts: 409
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
 
Ok thanks. Now why cant you? haha Im full of questions.Not being smart I just
want to know what a E40D has that a C6 dont have to use one besides a control circuit.
76ford466 is offline  
post #6 of 13 (permalink) Old 03-26-2012, 07:13 AM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Moose Jaw Saskatchewan Canada
Posts: 365
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
 
E4OD has a lock up and overdrive.


The clutch plate in a convertor must be engaged using hydraulic pressure.

C6 has no clutch in the convertor and no way of getting pressure to said clutch.

Wrench twister since 1957.
Journeyman in 1964.
Transmission builder since 1964.
stuarta is offline  
post #7 of 13 (permalink) Old 03-26-2012, 07:15 AM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Moose Jaw Saskatchewan Canada
Posts: 365
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
 
Quote:
Originally Posted by ITSA 91 View Post
Will an E4OD last behind a 700hp BBF?What about a converter that will stall to 3500 in a 3600lb car?
The first killer is weight of the transmission and convertor.

It's close to twice as heavy as a C6.

Wrench twister since 1957.
Journeyman in 1964.
Transmission builder since 1964.
stuarta is offline  
post #8 of 13 (permalink) Old 03-26-2012, 06:56 PM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 280
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
 
Not building a real race car this time.Will it hold up?
ITSA 91 is offline  
post #9 of 13 (permalink) Old 03-26-2012, 09:00 PM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: leonard Mi.
Posts: 817
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
 
have not seen it in a c6 but think it can be done. ive seen it in turbo 400 and chrysler 727 so if the money is there someone will build it.

Drag week quickest street rod
2009 2010
quick 52 is offline  
post #10 of 13 (permalink) Old 03-27-2012, 12:52 AM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Moose Jaw Saskatchewan Canada
Posts: 365
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
 
Quote:
Originally Posted by quick 52 View Post
have not seen it in a c6 but think it can be done. ive seen it in turbo 400 and chrysler 727 so if the money is there someone will build it.
Neither TH400 or C6 have capabilities of a lockup convertor.


727 yes.

Wrench twister since 1957.
Journeyman in 1964.
Transmission builder since 1964.
stuarta is offline  
post #11 of 13 (permalink) Old 03-27-2012, 09:56 AM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: leonard Mi.
Posts: 817
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
 
Quote:
Originally Posted by stuarta View Post
Neither TH400 or C6 have capabilities of a lockup convertor.


727 yes.
the 400 can be done ive seen them and have seen the internals the pump is rework by drilling a port for hydraulic pressure for apply tcc circuit the input shaft is rework by drilling the shaft to supply fluid to the tcc vortec converter is building them Mike riding is his name and they are out there

Drag week quickest street rod
2009 2010
quick 52 is offline  
post #12 of 13 (permalink) Old 03-27-2012, 10:08 AM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: leonard Mi.
Posts: 817
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
 
im also using a 700r4 behind my 472 and it works find i dont have alot of hp at 480hp but also spray 150hp to it that put around 600hp and it as been doing it for 4 years have had trouble with the tcc from wot lockups it not will it take out the converter clutch its when and the when has come a couple times

Drag week quickest street rod
2009 2010
quick 52 is offline  
post #13 of 13 (permalink) Old 04-01-2012, 05:48 PM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 3,730
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
 
Quote:
Originally Posted by stuarta View Post
Neither TH400 or C6 have capabilities of a lockup convertor.


727 yes.
early 400's could change the stall . why not use that hyd. system to engage a clutch
2slow is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply
Gear in this thread - Powered by O'Reilly Auto Parts

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the 460 Ford Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in









Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools Search this Thread
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome