c6 3rd gear weak?? How to build it better??? - 460 Ford Forum
Driveline Transmission, Clutch, Gearing, etc...

User Tag List

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
post #1 of 23 (permalink) Old 01-26-2013, 01:09 AM Thread Starter
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Mesa AZ
Posts: 75
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
 
c6 3rd gear weak?? How to build it better???

Hello All: I am tuning on my 9.4 L twin 76mm turboed motor again and am wondering if anyone here has a fix for a weak 3rd gear in a C6? My motor makes 800 ft. LBS. of torque at 2300 RPM and I rip out 3rd gear all the time on the street. Yes my 59 ford ranchwagon 5500 lbs and has huge sticky rear tires so I do know that hurts it more. I run a 3.20 rear gear with a 32" tall tire. I am just wondering if there is any real fix for these trannys or should I just give up on it and build a th400 or a glide???

Thanks for any info.

Tom.
Attached Images
File Type: jpg pipes.jpg.jpg (53.0 KB, 47 views)
File Type: jpg PIC00041.jpg (91.5 KB, 38 views)
59megawagon is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 23 (permalink) Old 01-26-2013, 02:42 AM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Australia
Posts: 2,095
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 11 Post(s)
 
What valvebody? How many clutches in high/reverse clutch ? What line pressure ? A Frank Merkl valve body and at least 5 clutches as a definite fix
gregaust is offline  
post #3 of 23 (permalink) Old 01-26-2013, 04:53 PM Thread Starter
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Mesa AZ
Posts: 75
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
 
Hello: I think high gear only has 3 plates and mine has a thinner steel end plate so I am able to add a 4th friction plate. as for line pressure I dont know? My trans is a 74 lincoln with a long tail shaft. But I think I have a truck valve body with a full manual shift.
59megawagon is offline  
post #4 of 23 (permalink) Old 01-26-2013, 09:17 PM
Senior Member
 
Frank Merkl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Brooks Alberta Canada
Posts: 1,969
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8 Post(s)
 
here you go
C6 drum modified for 5 clutches ,Also cpl questions on setup
there is alot of good info in general tech
Frank

Last edited by Frank Merkl; 01-26-2013 at 09:19 PM. Reason: add
Frank Merkl is offline  
post #5 of 23 (permalink) Old 01-26-2013, 09:33 PM
Senior Member
 
Frank Merkl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Brooks Alberta Canada
Posts: 1,969
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8 Post(s)
 
we put 1800 +hp threw our C6's seasons at a time
Frank
Frank Merkl is offline  
post #6 of 23 (permalink) Old 01-26-2013, 11:16 PM Thread Starter
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Mesa AZ
Posts: 75
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
 
Quote:
Originally Posted by Frank Merkl View Post
we put 1800 +hp threw our C6's seasons at a time
Frank
Everyone talks Hp Hp Hp.... all the time but what I am talking about is low RPM torque???? 800 ft lbs of torque at 2300 rpm. I cruise down the road at about 2500 rpm in 3rd gear and floor it and it will rip 3rd gear right out. The transmission pump pressures I would think would be low and would have a harder time holding the torque?? Correct?? I dont care about horsepower... My car makes massive grunt and weights over 2 tons... Will this c6 ever hold up or should I just go to a Glide???

Thanks for any reply.
59megawagon is offline  
post #7 of 23 (permalink) Old 01-26-2013, 11:53 PM
Senior Member
 
Frank Merkl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Brooks Alberta Canada
Posts: 1,969
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8 Post(s)
 
Put at stock powerglide or a stock th400 in it like your doing with a stock C6 it will be the same result!!you Need line pressure! a stocker VB with 50@ 2300 psi line pressure isn't going to cut it! you need a VB without modulated pressure ie ; 150 psi @ 750 rpm - 210psi@ 1500rpm and a stock pump it capable of making
Frank
Frank Merkl is offline  
post #8 of 23 (permalink) Old 01-27-2013, 12:04 AM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Australia
Posts: 2,095
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 11 Post(s)
 
Before you knock the C6 you need to address what was listed above . Franks info is all there ib the links . 4 frictions won't cut it . You need at least the 5 and a good brand clutch . But even the best components won't live without the line pressures listed above

C6 is more than capable but you at least need to know exactly what's inside the trans for it to have a chance of living
gregaust is offline  
post #9 of 23 (permalink) Old 01-27-2013, 06:24 AM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Moose Jaw Saskatchewan Canada
Posts: 366
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
 
Quote:
Originally Posted by 59megawagon View Post
Everyone talks Hp Hp Hp.... all the time but what I am talking about is low RPM torque???? 800 ft lbs of torque at 2300 rpm. I cruise down the road at about 2500 rpm in 3rd gear and floor it and it will rip 3rd gear right out. The transmission pump pressures I would think would be low and would have a harder time holding the torque?? Correct?? I dont care about horsepower... My car makes massive grunt and weights over 2 tons... Will this c6 ever hold up or should I just go to a Glide???

Thanks for any reply.
You need to address what is going on inside.

Valve body and pump are 2 of the main culprits.

If you are flooring it kickdown should happen.

Wrench twister since 1957.
Journeyman in 1964.
Transmission builder since 1964.
stuarta is offline  
post #10 of 23 (permalink) Old 01-27-2013, 11:09 AM Thread Starter
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Mesa AZ
Posts: 75
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
 
Quote:
Originally Posted by Frank Merkl View Post
Put at stock powerglide or a stock th400 in it like your doing with a stock C6 it will be the same result!!you Need line pressure! a stocker VB with 50@ 2300 psi line pressure isn't going to cut it! you need a VB without modulated pressure ie ; 150 psi @ 750 rpm - 210psi@ 1500rpm and a stock pump it capable of making
Frank
Hello Frank: Thank you for all your input on this thread. You talk about unmodulated line pressure? Are you talking about just not using a vacuum line to the modulator or are you talking about a change in the valve body for a set line pressure??

Thanks for your comments..
59megawagon is offline  
post #11 of 23 (permalink) Old 01-27-2013, 12:39 PM
Senior Member
 
Frank Merkl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Brooks Alberta Canada
Posts: 1,969
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8 Post(s)
 
changing the VB to a constant pressure vb
Frank
Frank Merkl is offline  
post #12 of 23 (permalink) Old 01-27-2013, 03:32 PM Thread Starter
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Mesa AZ
Posts: 75
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
 
Quote:
Originally Posted by stuarta View Post
You need to address what is going on inside.

Valve body and pump are 2 of the main culprits.

If you are flooring it kickdown should happen.
I have a full manual VB
59megawagon is offline  
post #13 of 23 (permalink) Old 01-27-2013, 03:59 PM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Australia
Posts: 2,095
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 11 Post(s)
 
Quote:
Originally Posted by 59megawagon View Post
I have a full manual VB
Yes , But what type ? And you need to know what pressure it is currently running at .. Some still run modulated line pressure .
gregaust is offline  
post #14 of 23 (permalink) Old 01-27-2013, 06:35 PM
Senior Member
 
BOSS 429's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: ILL
Posts: 3,125
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 29 Post(s)
 
Quote:
Originally Posted by 59megawagon View Post
I have a full manual VB

/\ THAT MEANS NOTHING

I've probaly tried more brands of valve bodys then anyone over the years, FRANKS have been the best. 4 years ago I had 1 company send me 15 to try, drove my trans guy nuts

all junk, Go with frank vb specs

RICH
CIRCLE (R) 815 712 8738
--------------------------------
815-712-8738
BUY,SELL, or TRADE B B FORD parts
Dynoed or Test ran
CLYINDER HEAD PORTING
COMPLETE ENGINES avb
From STOCK to NOT

Last edited by BOSS 429; 01-28-2013 at 06:58 AM.
BOSS 429 is offline  
post #15 of 23 (permalink) Old 01-27-2013, 06:48 PM
Super Moderator
 
bigblok86ranger's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Beloit , Wisconsin
Posts: 5,255
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 12 Post(s)
      
Send a message via Yahoo to bigblok86ranger
Frank I know you have stated how to modify line pressure before but can you add that info to the sticky if you would like to share that info.

Eric Millard
bigblok86gt@yahoo.com

528ci of N/A power

Circle R Racing Engines

Trick Chassis
Beloit,WI 53511
608-313-9197

http://www.trickchassis.com/

"LOL, WE DONT RACE DYNOS" Quoted for the truth!
bigblok86ranger is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the 460 Ford Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in









Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools Search this Thread
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome