Engine won't pull R.P.M's - 460 Ford Forum
General Race Tech All other topics, such as Fuel Delivery, Ignition, Engine, Safety, Data Aquisition, Suspension, etc...

User Tag List

 
LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
post #1 of 13 (permalink) Old 07-21-2013, 07:13 PM Thread Starter
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Kirkville NY
Posts: 41
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
 
Garage
Angry Engine won't pull R.P.M's

I put the car away last fall running a best of 10.60's at 124 mph. I back the valves off for winter{ this is a solid cam} Did some upgrades to suspension, added motor plate,engine limiters, new headers, Sent converter back to be loosened up,sent my quick fuel E-85 carb to Horsepower Innovations to be reworked. I bring the car out after these upgrades now the car will leave good but falls on it's face.Will not pull above 5000-5500 RPM in any gear.
I have checked timing set at 34*,tried a different msd box, different coil, Disconnected tach and shift light.Did not help the problem.I have checked valve lash, has not changed. I am thinking valve springs may be weak.
fumotor069 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 13 (permalink) Old 07-21-2013, 10:49 PM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 1,319
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
 
while my car is a full two seconds slower than yours it does the same thing. brick wall at 5200 to 5500. a fuel test at the carb showed not enough fuel volume. to top it off running the pump with the engine off also showed insufficient tank venting....bobn
zephyrbob is offline  
post #3 of 13 (permalink) Old 07-22-2013, 06:07 AM Thread Starter
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Kirkville NY
Posts: 41
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
 
Garage
I forgot to say I flow tested fuel system with the original a1000 fuel pump,did not flow enough.The fuel pump was old so I replaced with a new a1000 that flowed better than the old one. I tried putting the 2 a1000 pumps together and the regulator would not return enough fuel.I could not get fuel pressure under 11 psi. I bought an magnafuel 500 fuel pump and regulator.
fumotor069 is offline  
post #4 of 13 (permalink) Old 07-22-2013, 08:31 AM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Naples, Fl.
Posts: 1,803
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
 
RPM

have you checked the vent on the tank? if so the only other thing I can think of is the valve springs, do you have a spring pressure tester? good luck
butterbean is offline  
post #5 of 13 (permalink) Old 07-22-2013, 06:30 PM Thread Starter
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Kirkville NY
Posts: 41
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
 
Garage
I checked the vent to fuel cell, was no blockage.I flow tested the fuel system with the cell cap off and on there was no flow difference, So i think that the vent is ok. I do have a valve spring tester.I will test the springs and see what happens. Thank you for all help. Larry
fumotor069 is offline  
post #6 of 13 (permalink) Old 07-23-2013, 03:26 AM
Senior Member
 
TRUKPULR's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Marinette. WI
Posts: 1,348
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
 
OK the big question is what did you turn for R's last fall before you put it away.

www.shazampulling.com

The older I get the less I seem to know.
TRUKPULR is offline  
post #7 of 13 (permalink) Old 07-23-2013, 03:45 AM Thread Starter
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Kirkville NY
Posts: 41
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
 
Garage
6200 rpm
fumotor069 is offline  
post #8 of 13 (permalink) Old 07-23-2013, 08:32 AM
Senior Member
 
MrScharfenberger's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Georgetown Indiana
Posts: 4,563
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 76 Post(s)
 
You said you had the carb worked on. It still sounds like a fuel starvation problem to me. Just not enough gas to keep it turning as quick as you need it to. I'd check the carb out again just to make sure. Maybe take it back to the guys that did the work and let them know what is going on and have them check it out.
MrScharfenberger is offline  
post #9 of 13 (permalink) Old 07-23-2013, 07:12 PM Thread Starter
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Kirkville NY
Posts: 41
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
 
Garage
I am thinking about trying a gas carb and see what happens. I just have a hard time paying $14-$16 a gallon for race gas.
fumotor069 is offline  
post #10 of 13 (permalink) Old 07-24-2013, 02:56 AM
Senior Member
 
frank13's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Philadelphia
Posts: 1,112
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9 Post(s)
 
Send a message via AIM to frank13
pull a set of springs and check the pressure.

last year, I had the same issue, 5k rev limiter, pull the springs, checked them and poof, reading were way off. a couple shims later, poof 6500-7k no issues
frank13 is offline  
post #11 of 13 (permalink) Old 08-12-2013, 05:57 AM Thread Starter
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Kirkville NY
Posts: 41
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
 
Garage
Smile

I found the valve springs were weak, replaced them. Did not help. I was able to borrow a friend's e85 carb and the car is fixed ran 10.56 @126 mph. I have to send the carb back to be fixed now. Thank you for all the help, Larry
fumotor069 is offline  
post #12 of 13 (permalink) Old 09-03-2013, 06:30 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Charleston SC
Posts: 66
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
 
I'm having the same issue. What on the carb is the problem. My dominator works find but when l go to the smaller 750 it dies at 5000. I am on E85 as well
RaymondP is offline  
post #13 of 13 (permalink) Old 09-06-2013, 05:40 PM Thread Starter
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Kirkville NY
Posts: 41
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
 
Garage
I sent the carb back. He took it a part and did not find why it did not work for me. He wants me to lock out the timing. He is putting a different tune in it that he said is too rich to drive on the street. My car is a track only car. I should have it back next week I hope.
fumotor069 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the 460 Ford Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in









Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools Search this Thread
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome