how do you set a C6 to shift at a certain RPM? [Archive] - 460 Ford Forum

: how do you set a C6 to shift at a certain RPM?


MauriSSSio
02-12-2011, 02:27 PM
i want my transmission (C6) to shift itself at a certain rpm (6500rpm) @ WOT. can this be done on a c6 or do i really have to do it manually?

RJP
02-12-2011, 03:06 PM
Frank Merkl is much better qualified to answer but I'll offer my .02 and worth every penny. The automatic shift points can be modified by changing the weights in the governor. Do a search and you should find something pertaining to this as it was discussed awhile back.

MauriSSSio
02-12-2011, 03:35 PM
well i did a search and some people are saying all you have to do is adjust the modulator. Others say its the kickdown cable. still others say its the governor, just wondering if anything conclusive about it was found out.

White Lightning
02-12-2011, 03:44 PM
If you're at WOT the kick down won't come into play as far as adjustment goes, fully open is fully open. If I'm not mistaken (and I'm subject to be on MANY occasions) the modulator would partly come into play if there is manifold vacuum involved, so I'm thinking that you're going to get the most "adjust-ability" out of the Governor.
Rob

MauriSSSio
02-12-2011, 03:57 PM
If you're at WOT the kick down won't come into play as far as adjustment goes, fully open is fully open. If I'm not mistaken (and I'm subject to be on MANY occasions) the modulator would partly come into play if there is manifold vacuum involved, so I'm thinking that you're going to get the most "adjust-ability" out of the Governor.
Rob

thats what i was thinking about the gorvernor. But i also saw other posts that said adjusting the modulator was all they did and they were able to raise the shift points to their desired rpm.
I think its gonna end up being the governor but it seems to be a bit of a pain to do that work only for it to end up being a guess at best and then having to take another guess.

White Lightning
02-12-2011, 04:17 PM
True, an adjustable modulator is way easier to adjust as opposed to pulling the drive line and the extension housing each time. All 3 DO determine shift points (kick down position, modulator and governor) So, If I couldn't get concrete info (and Frank Merkl would be one of the people to ask) I'd personally start with an adjustable modulator.....
Rob

MauriSSSio
02-12-2011, 04:43 PM
True, an adjustable modulator is way easier to adjust as opposed to pulling the drive line and the extension housing each time. All 3 DO determine shift points (kick down position, modulator and governor) So, If I couldn't get concrete info (and Frank Merkl would be one of the people to ask) I'd personally start with an adjustable modulator.....
Rob

thanks for the replies. i have a feeling its gonna be the more difficult job (governor). It seems to usually work out that way doesnt it.

MauriSSSio
02-12-2011, 04:57 PM
i also thought the kickdown cable was only for downshifts and didnt do much at WOT but this thread here tells me otherwise : http://www.460ford.com/forum/showthread.php?t=141234&highlight=raise+shift+point+c6

in that thread a member here said he was able to get 6000rpm shift points by messin with just the modulator.

Ah, i guess when its all said and done its just gonna take some crazy driving out there to get this right.

MauriSSSio
02-12-2011, 05:26 PM
one more thing. Im not running a kickdown cable (will buy one this week). But ut was wondering, does the factory kickdown cable/rod fit on a dominator sitting on a victor intake or does the linkage sit too high?? also, will a lokar cable fit on a dominator linkage?

White Lightning
02-12-2011, 06:23 PM
I've heard that the Lokar set ups are pretty adjustable for different combos, and I doubt that a stock kick down will fit a Dominator set up. Won't know untill you try it.
Rob

MauriSSSio
02-12-2011, 07:27 PM
I've heard that the Lokar set ups are pretty adjustable for different combos, and I doubt that a stock kick down will fit a Dominator set up. Won't know untill you try it.
Rob

whaaaaaaat i thought dominators were designed for fords for nascar!!! Holley should have known better and put a provision for a c6 kickdown rod!!! didnt they run c6's in nascar!?!?!? jk

looks like a lokar cable for me!!

White Lightning
02-12-2011, 07:33 PM
LMAO....aaah....no.
Rob

quick 52
02-13-2011, 06:31 AM
if your shifting at 6500 u r racinng u will like line pressure high and its higher in manual shift mode
dragweek quickest street rod
2009 2010

MauriSSSio
02-14-2011, 02:37 PM
i still have the column shifter and i feel like timing it to shift at a consistent rpm might be a little difficult (vs automatic shifting) since theres a lil delay from when you move the lever and when the transmission shifts.

i just got my carb back and put it on the engine and noticed there's no provision for a kickdown cable on the linkage. do they sell anything to attach a kickdown cable to a dominator carb??

MauriSSSio
02-14-2011, 04:21 PM
i guess ill start by messin with the vacuum modulator, anyone know where i can get an adjustable one??

White Lightning
02-14-2011, 05:39 PM
I think the last one I bought for a 350 series was from Napa, Google it, I'm sure that the tranny manufacturers have them.
Rob

White Lightning
02-14-2011, 05:41 PM
i still have the column shifter and i feel like timing it to shift at a consistent rpm might be a little difficult (vs automatic shifting) since theres a lil delay from when you move the lever and when the transmission shifts.

i just got my carb back and put it on the engine and noticed there's no provision for a kickdown cable on the linkage. do they sell anything to attach a kickdown cable to a dominator carb??

Maybe, but I have my doubts. The Dommy's are mostly race oriented. You'll probably have to fab something up, maybe with the Locar set up.
Rob

m52mark
02-14-2011, 07:11 PM
I bought a bolt on kickdown linkage for my edelbrock . It would probably be easier to modify one to fit your dominator than to scratch build one . It's made by edelbrock .

MauriSSSio
02-14-2011, 07:44 PM
Maybe, but I have my doubts. The Dommy's are mostly race oriented. You'll probably have to fab something up, maybe with the Locar set up.
Rob

i think if i fab it up myself its gonna end up looking crazy ugly but ill see when i can think of.

MauriSSSio
02-14-2011, 07:45 PM
I bought a bolt on kickdown linkage for my edelbrock . It would probably be easier to modify one to fit your dominator than to scratch build one . It's made by edelbrock .

thing is the Dominator (or maybe its just mine) doesnt have anything to hook anything else up to it besides the throttle cable and return springs.

bigblok86ranger
02-14-2011, 08:00 PM
I think the eddy piece requires removing the throttle shaft installing the adapter then reinstalling the assembly.

RJP
02-14-2011, 09:02 PM
i guess ill start by messin with the vacuum modulator, anyone know where i can get an adjustable one??Your C6 should have an adjustable modulator. Just pull the vacume line off and look for the slot for your very small screwdriver. Turn in 1/2 to 1 turn to firm up the shifts.

MauriSSSio
02-14-2011, 09:11 PM
Your C6 should have an adjustable modulator. Just pull the vacume line off and look for the slot for your very small screwdriver. Turn in 1/2 to 1 turn to firm up the shifts.

thanks, but im trying to set it to shift at a faster rpm but not just to firm the shifts up.

MauriSSSio
02-14-2011, 09:12 PM
I think the eddy piece requires removing the throttle shaft installing the adapter then reinstalling the assembly.

edelbrock makes a throttle shaft linkage for a Holley dominator?

bigblok86ranger
02-14-2011, 09:58 PM
No you install the kickdown lever on the existing shaft I do not know if it would work on your dommy though. It is designed as an add-on for the eddy carbs.

cletus66
02-14-2011, 11:31 PM
I'm no trans guy, but I went through this a few (many) years ago. I had a 460/C6 in my Galaxie, and I wanted it to shift at 6000 while leaving it in drive. I was running a stock cast iron intake and a Holley 4150 carb with the factory ford kickdown linkage on it. I used the black stripe modulator which is adjustable with a small screwdriver. I made small moves until it would shift at 6000 WOT in drive. Keep in mind that this used the factory kickdown rod, which you should be able to duplicate with the Lokar cable. When you tweak it up like that, it also makes it shift a little later at part throttle. I didn't mind at the time because I liked that little CHIRP while I was putting around through town. :D

droppedf100
02-15-2011, 12:19 PM
This is what you want. Works good in my truck but I never messed with wide open shifts only part throttle cruising.

http://napaautoparts.com/Search/Detail.aspx?A=ATP14657_0131792541&An=599001+101979+50028+2028016

MauriSSSio
02-15-2011, 03:37 PM
I'm no trans guy, but I went through this a few (many) years ago. I had a 460/C6 in my Galaxie, and I wanted it to shift at 6000 while leaving it in drive. I was running a stock cast iron intake and a Holley 4150 carb with the factory ford kickdown linkage on it. I used the black stripe modulator which is adjustable with a small screwdriver. I made small moves until it would shift at 6000 WOT in drive. Keep in mind that this used the factory kickdown rod, which you should be able to duplicate with the Lokar cable. When you tweak it up like that, it also makes it shift a little later at part throttle. I didn't mind at the time because I liked that little CHIRP while I was putting around through town. :D
im gonna mess with the vacuum modulator but still dont know how im gonna make a kickdown cable work on a dominator. The dominator doesnt have the same kinda linkage a double pumper or edelbrocks have. This isnt my car but this is what a dominators linkage looks like.
http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v509/T748/moparts/HPIM1189.jpg

This is what you want. Works good in my truck but I never messed with wide open shifts only part throttle cruising.

http://napaautoparts.com/Search/Detail.aspx?A=ATP14657_0131792541&An=599001+101979+50028+2028016

thanks for the link but it just takes me to the store locator and not the actual part! but youre right ill give Napa a shot. you have a part number by chance?

droppedf100
02-15-2011, 07:19 PM
thanks for the link but it just takes me to the store locator and not the actual part! but youre right ill give Napa a shot. you have a part number by chance?

Wierd it works for me. The parts number is ATP 14657

MauriSSSio
02-15-2011, 08:32 PM
Wierd it works for me. The parts number is ATP 14657

thanks, its probably because of different zip code specific pricing or something.

MauriSSSio
02-16-2011, 03:42 PM
anybody have any ideas about how to make a kickdown cable for the dominator?

off the top of my head the only thing i can think of is using some kinda choke cable sset up and manually push the kickdown lever that way (when drag racing) somehow to get full line pressure??

cletus66
02-18-2011, 03:48 PM
I would contact Lokar to see if their kickdown cable is compatible with the Dominator. They make one for the C6, but I don't know if it will work with the Dommie.

quesey
02-20-2011, 01:29 PM
on my c6 i did the gov just ground some off of it.then on my kick down i put extra rings in when i bolted it on at the shifter.so the shifter it self will move kick down.start in park and shift to drive and it (kicks it down) then when i'm just driving it around i pulled it to low and back to drive so it (did'nt kick down)with it down it would shift around 6000/6200.
with it driving around it will shift like normal but still firm.so in my case i did'nt need the cable
worked for me anyway's good luck

BOSS 429
02-20-2011, 01:45 PM
anybody have any ideas about how to make a kickdown cable for the dominator?

off the top of my head the only thing i can think of is using some kinda choke cable sset up and manually push the kickdown lever that way (when drag racing) somehow to get full line pressure??



i just make the factory rod work, you need to suport it,then have the linkage pushdown,and back on it, now adays we dont run one at all, modified the gov,and used a adjust mod valve from napa, in drive shifts great

screwing in the mod too far can cause the trans to slip! ! ! huh bob? lol lol
screwing in the mod will only help so much