How to change a fuel pump on a 89 Ford F350 - 460 Ford Forum
460 Ford Forum  
Go Back   460 Ford Forum > Tech Topics > Engine Tech

Engine Tech A place to discuss all 385-series engine tech and theory.

460Ford.com is the premier 460 Ford Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 10-26-2011, 09:53 AM
rjtrudeau rjtrudeau is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 7
rjtrudeau First On Race Day
Default How to change a fuel pump on a 89 Ford F350

Truck wont start! I think its the fuel pump. Which pump usually goes bad the one in the tank or the one on the frame. and where is the one in the tank located please help!!!
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
  #2  
Old 10-26-2011, 08:18 PM
2slow 2slow is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 3,441
2slow Driving a Ford
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by rjtrudeau View Post
Truck wont start! I think its the fuel pump. Which pump usually goes bad the one in the tank or the one on the frame. and where is the one in the tank located please help!!!
to find the pump in the tank ... look in the tank !
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #3  
Old 10-26-2011, 08:33 PM
bigblok86ranger's Avatar
bigblok86ranger bigblok86ranger is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Beloit , Wisconsin
Posts: 5,170
bigblok86ranger Spreads the gospal of BBFbigblok86ranger Spreads the gospal of BBFbigblok86ranger Spreads the gospal of BBFbigblok86ranger Spreads the gospal of BBFbigblok86ranger Spreads the gospal of BBFbigblok86ranger Spreads the gospal of BBF
Send a message via Yahoo to bigblok86ranger
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by 2slow View Post
to find the pump in the tank ... look in the tank !
LMAO! Sorry had to laugh about that one. But seriously pull the easiest one first and check it then move on to the in tank pumps.
__________________
Eric Millard
bigblok86gt@yahoo.com

528ci of N/A power

Circle R Racing Engines

Trick Chassis
Beloit,WI 53511
608-313-9197

http://www.trickchassis.com/

"LOL, WE DONT RACE DYNOS" Quoted for the truth!
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #4  
Old 10-26-2011, 08:54 PM
Dman64's Avatar
Dman64 Dman64 is online now
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Canada
Posts: 714
Dman64 First On Race Day
Default

Usually when a pump goes bad you can hit it or hit the tank and it will start but that is usually the last time it will get you home and then have to replace it. I'm surprised that there are 2 pumps? The one on the frame is usually a filter? But I could be wrong.

D
__________________
1964 F100 466 zero decked fuelie 7cc dish pistons, with RHP 2.11 1.65 budget D3 heads, Voodoo cam 219/227, rpm intake, Holley Terminator EFI, MSD Ignition, MSD FORD TFI Distrbutor, 4R70W Trans with Baumann Re-cal kit, US Shift electronic Trans controller with B&M Megashifter, 2500 Dirty Dog Convertor, 3.50 gears with detroit locker.

http://www.flickr.com/photos/36499599@N04/

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=rbl-v...3&feature=plcp
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #5  
Old 10-26-2011, 09:43 PM
Hoggy's Avatar
Hoggy Hoggy is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 40
Hoggy First On Race Day
Default

Disconnect the fuel line, stich it in an empty bottle, turn on the key, do you get gas?
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #6  
Old 10-28-2011, 08:55 AM
bigblok86ranger's Avatar
bigblok86ranger bigblok86ranger is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Beloit , Wisconsin
Posts: 5,170
bigblok86ranger Spreads the gospal of BBFbigblok86ranger Spreads the gospal of BBFbigblok86ranger Spreads the gospal of BBFbigblok86ranger Spreads the gospal of BBFbigblok86ranger Spreads the gospal of BBFbigblok86ranger Spreads the gospal of BBF
Send a message via Yahoo to bigblok86ranger
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Dman64 View Post
Usually when a pump goes bad you can hit it or hit the tank and it will start but that is usually the last time it will get you home and then have to replace it. I'm surprised that there are 2 pumps? The one on the frame is usually a filter? But I could be wrong.

D
Some trucks had three pumps one in each tank that produce low pressure and one on the frame near the filter to boost pressure and a electric tank selector switch, or some just have in tank pumps with an automatic tank selectors. There is no rhyme or reason to why they went with one versus the other so on many truck you have to investigate which way the system is setup.
__________________
Eric Millard
bigblok86gt@yahoo.com

528ci of N/A power

Circle R Racing Engines

Trick Chassis
Beloit,WI 53511
608-313-9197

http://www.trickchassis.com/

"LOL, WE DONT RACE DYNOS" Quoted for the truth!
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #7  
Old 10-28-2011, 09:52 AM
MrScharfenberger's Avatar
MrScharfenberger MrScharfenberger is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Georgetown Indiana
Posts: 3,515
MrScharfenberger First On Race Day
Default

These trucks are notorious for having the tank selector go bad and cut fuel to the motor. Usually one tank will still work though. It is the other that will cut the fuel supply off when it is selected. Just something to check if you have not already tried to run it on either tank.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #8  
Old 10-28-2011, 08:13 PM
bigblok86ranger's Avatar
bigblok86ranger bigblok86ranger is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Beloit , Wisconsin
Posts: 5,170
bigblok86ranger Spreads the gospal of BBFbigblok86ranger Spreads the gospal of BBFbigblok86ranger Spreads the gospal of BBFbigblok86ranger Spreads the gospal of BBFbigblok86ranger Spreads the gospal of BBFbigblok86ranger Spreads the gospal of BBF
Send a message via Yahoo to bigblok86ranger
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by MrScharfenberger View Post
These trucks are notorious for having the tank selector go bad and cut fuel to the motor. Usually one tank will still work though. It is the other that will cut the fuel supply off when it is selected. Just something to check if you have not already tried to run it on either tank.
I forgot about that Chris, when my tank selector took a crap it would pump all the fuel out of the front tank and return it to the rear which of course leaked LOL.
__________________
Eric Millard
bigblok86gt@yahoo.com

528ci of N/A power

Circle R Racing Engines

Trick Chassis
Beloit,WI 53511
608-313-9197

http://www.trickchassis.com/

"LOL, WE DONT RACE DYNOS" Quoted for the truth!
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #9  
Old 10-28-2011, 11:46 PM
69F100's Avatar
69F100 69F100 is offline
Forum Contributor
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Irwinville Ga.
Posts: 1,324
69F100 Driving a Ford
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by bigblok86ranger View Post
I forgot about that Chris, when my tank selector took a crap it would pump all the fuel out of the front tank and return it to the rear which of course leaked LOL.

I have had that happen a few months back on my 86 like to have drove me crazy before I figured it out.

On the dual tank ford used the low pressure pumps to change tanks the tank selector in dash just cut off one of the pumps and start the other just depends on what tank you switch it to.The high pressure pump on the frame is for the injection system.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the 460 Ford Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:19 PM.



Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

Garage Plus vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.