460 Ford Forum banner

P51 heads: How much more airflow with bigger valves?

8K views 14 replies 4 participants last post by  Big Block Notch 
#1 · (Edited)
I've been running the P51s in my Mustang for several years now and really like them. With some moderate porting, the intake ports are flowing 415-420 cfm right now with the standard 2.250-inch valves. How much airflow can I realistically pick up by stepping up to larger valves? I need to switch over to titanium intake valves anyway, so now would be the time to do it. The new combo will have a 4.600 bore, so I'll have some more real estate in there. Thanks!

#5 ·
You could use this for a compairison
http://users.erols.com/srweiss/calcafhp.htm

Real issue is the complete intake system. Will your intake actually flow more air, the carb.
An intake that flows 212 CFM bolted to a head that flows 235 CFM the intake will still flow 212 CFM bolted to a head that flows 360 CFM.
One shuld if possible flow the completer intake system at least with the intake
bolted to the head on the flow bench.
Flow testing an intake with a common plenum all ports but the one being flowed should be taped closed at the head gasket flange or the reading will be off (much higher).

Most setups I have dealt with the intake manifold is the bottle neck.

#6 · (Edited)
Good point, although my plans to put twin 88mm turbos on this combo probably throws a monkey wrench into the mix. Since I have to upgrade from stainless to titanium intake valves, I figured I might as well put a slightly larger diameter valve in it if it's worth some airflow. Realistically, all the additional airflow will be doing with a turbo combo is make the exact same power as it would with a smaller valve but at slightly lower (ie negligible) boost pressure.

#9 ·