Horsepower on the cheap (1988 Ford 460) - 460 Ford Forum
460 Ford Forum  
Go Back   460 Ford Forum > Tech Topics > Engine Tech

Engine Tech A place to discuss all 385-series engine tech and theory.

460Ford.com is the premier 460 Ford Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.

Old 12-15-2006, 10:56 AM

Novous Driving a Ford
Default Horsepower on the cheap (1988 Ford 460)

Hello, I'm new to this board.

I've got the opportunity to purchase a 1988 460 Ford engine out of a F350 and I'm wondering what kind of horsepower upgrades I can look into for relatively cheap (less than a $1000 total). I have some knowledge of engines and techinques to upgrade them, but no real-world experience with upgrading engine and I'm completely new to Fords.

There's the turbocharger route which has huge potential for power-per-dollar but large enough turbos are going to cost quite a bit, aren't they? Roughly, what kind of horsepower could I generate on stock parts (maybe lower compression pistons)? Should I look into forged pistons?

There's also the naturally-aspired route of wild cams and high-compression pistons. But I'd have to port/machine a lot, right? I'm also concerned about running my peak HP outside of my redline.

Either way, I'm happy with stock RPM limits unless they can be improved on-the-cheap (which I doubt). And I don't mind running high-end pump gas or about fuel economy (within reason!). It's currently a candidate for an off-road mud/dune-buggy engine. I'm not sure about powerband range yet other than it shouldn't be very narrow.

Any light you could shed on this would be greatly appreciated. Thanks in advance!
--Chris
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 12-15-2006, 02:47 PM

ScottJackson Driving a Ford