How do I Determine Pushrod length - 460 Ford Forum
460 Ford Forum  
Go Back   460 Ford Forum > Tech Topics > Engine Tech

Engine Tech A place to discuss all 385-series engine tech and theory.

460Ford.com is the premier 460 Ford Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.

Old 03-08-2013, 10:28 PM

Colorado Ford man First On Race Day
Default How do I Determine Pushrod length

I have my cam, heads, rockers, studs, guideplates, lifters, and I was planning to determine valve to piston clearance and pushrod length this weekend, I was after any advice on doing this You experts can yield. The build is a 545 D9TEAB block, A429 heads, lightly milled, rather surfaced, DOVE MFG. Roller rockers (1.73 ratio), Comp Cams 274/286 .562/.565 lift 230/236 @ 50 cam, No decking on block, Hyd. Flat tappet cam, And I have never done this before!! I am wondering how do you pressure up the lifters and keep them pressured whle checking pushrod length and also how many cylinders would you guys recommend checking? I am planning an engine to spin not over 6000 rpm and I was going to use 3/8 pushrods. All advice welcome. Thanks. A step by step procedure would help me for now.
Advertisement

Old 03-09-2013, 03:13 AM

gregaust Driving a Ford

The motor needs to be assembled first then figure the length .
There's a lot of online articles show how to .. Here's a quick search

http://www.bing.com/search?q=rocker%...B&PC=WLEM&QS=n
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 03-09-2013, 08:35 AM