Dual Quad Set-Up w/kickdown? - 460 Ford Forum
Engine Tech A place to discuss all 385-series engine tech and theory.

User Tag List

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
post #1 of 21 (permalink) Old 10-01-2010, 10:43 PM Thread Starter
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: San Antonio,Texas
Posts: 214
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
 
Dual Quad Set-Up w/kickdown?

Has anyone ever run a dual quad set up and figured out how to use the auto transmission kick down. My current set up is dual holley 465's mounted backwards. I have never seen anyone make a linkage set-up that would accommodate this. If not, why has no one figured this out? It seems like a good way to create a unique item and make money.
GAL60 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 21 (permalink) Old 10-04-2010, 06:02 AM Thread Starter
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: San Antonio,Texas
Posts: 214
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
 
At least make fun of me or something.
GAL60 is offline  
post #3 of 21 (permalink) Old 10-04-2010, 01:40 PM
Senior Member
 
fordman59's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Orleans Indiana
Posts: 1,297
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
 
Quote:
Originally Posted by GAL60 View Post
At least make fun of me or something.
O.K. ! That is something I gotta figure out too. Heck, I haven't even figured out my throttle linkage yet! Gotta make a bracket as I want to stay with my factory cable throttle. All the 2x4 stuff came on cars with a 4 speed and the old style mechanical throttle.
O.K. All you Rube Goldberg guys help us out!

1972 torino 460 c-6
1988 turbo coupe, 1978 f150 460/c6
fordman59 is offline  
 
post #4 of 21 (permalink) Old 10-04-2010, 01:43 PM
Senior Member
 
jrocco's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Crosby (near Houston) TX
Posts: 858
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
 
Just use a Lokar cable and set it up so that at full throttle you are pulling full on the cable.

What do you have for carb linkage? I guess you are pushing the throttle linkage rather than pulliing since they are mounted backwards?

Normally the cable is hooked up on the bottom side of the carb linkage so that as the linkage rotates, the bottom of the linkage moves to the front of the engine. In your case, with the carbs mounted backwards, the top of the linkage moves toward the front of the engine, so hooking up the cable up there would work.

Jerry Tomasello
70 Torino 429
Club Moderator - the Ford Torino Club
http://autos.groups.yahoo.com/group/TheFordTorinoClub/
jrocco is offline  
post #5 of 21 (permalink) Old 10-04-2010, 03:12 PM
Senior Member
 
fordman59's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Orleans Indiana
Posts: 1,297
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
 
Carb linkage works as normal just a different location front to back. I am gonna fab up a bracket that mounts using the back carb bolts. I need a place to mount my cable. Does the Locar kick down look like it would work on the 2x4 linkage in the first pic?
Attached Images
File Type: jpg 2x4 460.jpg (89.5 KB, 69 views)
File Type: jpg stealth 005.jpg (93.5 KB, 51 views)

1972 torino 460 c-6
1988 turbo coupe, 1978 f150 460/c6
fordman59 is offline  
post #6 of 21 (permalink) Old 10-06-2010, 09:52 PM Thread Starter
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: San Antonio,Texas
Posts: 214
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
 
Sorry guys, was away for a while. My linkage is the Carl’s ford parts original 427 type linkage (bell crank type). I was told this was the best quality for that type of linkage. The carbs and fuel log came from Price Motor Sport Engineering. The cars came with trunions pre-installed. I am guessing that ford never made a provision for anyone wanting to use this with an automatic transmission. I have nothing against Lokar or cable operated linkage, as I had it on my 53' Ford. The only problem was I could never get it exactly right. It was close, but always just a little off. Thank you guys again for all your help.
GAL60 is offline  
post #7 of 21 (permalink) Old 10-06-2010, 11:04 PM
Senior Member
 
fordman59's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Orleans Indiana
Posts: 1,297
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
 
427 type linkage (bell crank type) is the same as mine in the pic. Still interested in any other kick-down ideas.

1972 torino 460 c-6
1988 turbo coupe, 1978 f150 460/c6
fordman59 is offline  
post #8 of 21 (permalink) Old 10-07-2010, 09:50 PM Thread Starter
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: San Antonio,Texas
Posts: 214
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
 
Ok, is there any down side or harmful effect to running a vehicle without its kickdown?
GAL60 is offline  
post #9 of 21 (permalink) Old 10-07-2010, 10:02 PM
Senior Member
 
jrocco's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Crosby (near Houston) TX
Posts: 858
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
 
Quote:
Originally Posted by GAL60 View Post
Ok, is there any down side or harmful effect to running a vehicle without its kickdown?
According to my transmission guy yes there is. The kick down also applies full power to the servo during WOT.

Jerry Tomasello
70 Torino 429
Club Moderator - the Ford Torino Club
http://autos.groups.yahoo.com/group/TheFordTorinoClub/
jrocco is offline  
post #10 of 21 (permalink) Old 10-07-2010, 10:50 PM
Senior Member
 
95lightiningguy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: N.Little Rock AR
Posts: 957
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
 
Send a message via Yahoo to 95lightiningguy
Also depends on transmission. I have run a C6 without the kickdown rod hooked up for a couple of thousand miles before I found that I hadnt hooked it up. Boneheaded I know but It didnt hurt the transmission at all just didnt want to down shift at WOT. Not sayin it wont hurt it, just my experience.

89 F150 351w powered
95 F150 300 I6 5 speed soon to be 460 powered lightining clone
95lightiningguy is offline  
post #11 of 21 (permalink) Old 10-09-2010, 07:29 AM
Senior Member
 
Barry_R's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Detroit
Posts: 791
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
 
On a C6 the lack of a kickdown won't hurt anything.

Using the normal dual quad throttle linkage and a kickdown can be a challenge. We made one up for a customer car, but needed to have the vehicle on site. If I recall we fabricated a bellcrank arrangement at the firewall end.

Barry R.
#1 Horsepower FE Ford - Engine Masters Challenge - 2005, 2006, 2007, 2008, 2009, 2010
Warehouse Distributor for:
Scat, Probe, Blue Thunder, Diamond,
Clevite, Holley, Federal-Mogul, Comp Cams, more.
www.survivalmotorsports.com
(248) 931-0358 or (248) 366-3309 shop
Barry_R is offline  
post #12 of 21 (permalink) Old 10-09-2010, 10:52 PM Thread Starter
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: San Antonio,Texas
Posts: 214
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
 
So Barry R, that would not be something you could mass produce and sell? I have all the fabrication ability of a cinder block.
GAL60 is offline  
post #13 of 21 (permalink) Old 10-10-2010, 01:09 AM
Senior Member
 
DJOHAGIN's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Santa Clara, CA
Posts: 2,671
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8 Post(s)
 
Once you get everything set-up, you may find you don't want the kick-down. After downshifting, losing traction, and getting sideways, all unexpected, you may want the control weather or not to downshift.

Just from personal experience.

BTW, I ran a C6 tens of thousands of miles without the kick-down with no problems.

Dave
DJOHAGIN is offline  
post #14 of 21 (permalink) Old 10-13-2010, 09:58 PM Thread Starter
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: San Antonio,Texas
Posts: 214
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
 
Thats a good point. I didnt think of that. DJOHAGIN, How much HP/TQ in an engine do you think it would take to produce a situation like you mentioned. (assuming highway gears and a very heavy car?)
GAL60 is offline  
post #15 of 21 (permalink) Old 10-14-2010, 01:55 PM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Chandler, Az
Posts: 750
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
 
Mechanical linkage? Didnt some cars have a rod extending down at the same point that it goes up for the throttle linkage that has a cable to the kickdown lever?

Like this


Cable goes from the one rod to the kickdown, carbs dont affect it.

68 coupe, 557+glide...
http://members.cox.net/darkknight302/68nwrear.jpg
84 Gt 'vert, 95 engine, AFR 165's, stock cam, performer with 600 holley
[email protected] in the AZ summer heat
GaryH is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the 460 Ford Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in













Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome