460 Ford Forum banner

Fired my 545 for first time

3K views 21 replies 6 participants last post by  Colt 
#1 ·
Well, I fired my baby up yesterday and it went ok. I am super stoked to say I had everything in order, it fired right up after the fitech got properly primed and idle screw setup. This thing isn’t your granny’s car for sure. Little surprised how rough the idle is and it is pig rich but has good throttle response....lightning fast in fact. It sounds kinda like a dragster, I didn’t think my cam was big enough to have that effect.....I am new to this kinda thing though.

The temp rides up according to the fitech controller, I hit 262 water temp. That’s with a single puller and in a shop not moving. I do have a nice dual fan setup coming that I hope cures this.

I can’t drive the truck yet to see if the efi will learn enough to not run so rich at idle....it’s so rich it hurts your eyes after about 5-10 minutes with shop opened up....puffs a little black smoke when you romp on it. It does idle fairly even, bout 150 rpm fluctuation, I figure that’s just the nature of this beast. Also I think maybe I got my o2 sensor to close to the rear cylinder so I’ll move that back some and see if that’s not causing the computer to get a false afr and dumping more fuel than it should at idle. I changed my target afr to 16 and it didn’t change the rich state....kinda making me think my o2 sensor needs moved, fingers crossed but I won’t know until the truck is finished as I’m about to tear it back apart for paint and body then final finishing.

Ideas on the richness are welcome.

P.s.

Fitech support is not much help...I only talked to one guy though. I gave up and researched my way.

See less See more
#2 ·