No oil pressure? - 460 Ford Forum
Engine Tech A place to discuss all 385-series engine tech and theory.

User Tag List

 3Likes
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
post #1 of 28 (permalink) Old 08-09-2018, 01:16 PM Thread Starter
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2015
Posts: 15
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
 
No oil pressure?

Ok, this topic is already here a million times...but, I changed the oil and filter in the jet boat. Everything was as it should be before. Now I have no oil pressure. Checked the sending unit with the ohm meter, good. Checked the electric gage with key on and tapping wire to ground, works. Tried another sending unit, still doesn't work. Checked to make sure oil was in the filter, yes. Replaced the filter, still doesn't work. Pulled the distributor and checked the drive shaft, good. Ran the pump with a drill, gage didn't work but there was resistance showing it could be pumping.

I noticed that there is no sign of oil when I pulled the sending unit? I have not yet pulled the valve covers to check for oiling to the rockers.
Everything is low hours, about 30. Ford hi volume pump, new Stewart Warner gage and matching sending unit, oil is full.
Any ideas as to why I'm not seeing oil at the sending unit?
84_crusader is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 28 (permalink) Old 08-09-2018, 01:20 PM
Senior Member
 
John F.'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Michigan
Posts: 350
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 19 Post(s)
 
Do you have a remote oil filter set up? Sometimes the connecting hoses may get switched and this will cause a problem with the check ball system.

1956 Ford F100...466/C6, Edelbrock aluminum heads and Preformer intake w/750cfm carb, Comp. cam , H/S roller rockers, MSD lighter, KB flat top pistons, Currie rear end, B & M shifter, tubbed, Ididit column
John F. is offline  
post #3 of 28 (permalink) Old 08-09-2018, 01:51 PM Thread Starter
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2015
Posts: 15
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
 
Quote:
Originally Posted by John F. View Post
Do you have a remote oil filter set up? Sometimes the connecting hoses may get switched and this will cause a problem with the check ball system.
Yes I do, it is in excellent condition and correctly installed. I have been running this set up since the beginning of last year.
84_crusader is offline  
 
post #4 of 28 (permalink) Old 08-09-2018, 02:50 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 221
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 39 Post(s)
 
Fram?
slowride is offline  
post #5 of 28 (permalink) Old 08-09-2018, 02:56 PM Thread Starter
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2015
Posts: 15
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
 
Beat up Fram all you want. No, it was a micro guard then replaced with a fram. It's not the filter

Quote:
Originally Posted by slowride View Post
Fram?
84_crusader is offline  
post #6 of 28 (permalink) Old 08-09-2018, 03:11 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 221
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 39 Post(s)
 
Quote:
Originally Posted by 84_crusader View Post
Beat up Fram all you want. No, it was a micro guard then replaced with a fram. It's not the filter
Not beating them up, their reputation is deserved. I work for an OEM and Fram's were killing our engines due to the bypass construction and paper end caps collapsing. I've cut them apart and compared construction. I don't like orange so much that I won't run Wix or Purolator.
DanE likes this.
slowride is offline  
post #7 of 28 (permalink) Old 08-09-2018, 03:24 PM Thread Starter
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2015
Posts: 15
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
 
Unless I got 2 bad filters in a row from 2 different manufacturers i don't see how it could be the filter.

Quote:
Originally Posted by slowride View Post
Quote:
Originally Posted by 84_crusader View Post
Beat up Fram all you want. No, it was a micro guard then replaced with a fram. It's not the filter
Not beating them up, their reputation is deserved. I work for an OEM and Fram's were killing our engines due to the bypass construction and paper end caps collapsing. I've cut them apart and compared construction. I don't like orange so much that I won't run Wix or Purolator.
84_crusader is offline  
post #8 of 28 (permalink) Old 08-09-2018, 03:27 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 221
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 39 Post(s)
 
Quote:
Originally Posted by 84_crusader View Post
Unless I got 2 bad filters in a row from 2 different manufacturers i don't see how it could be the filter.
Highly unlikely and the Fram probably isn't the issue this time. Was just asking as your condition is exactly what Frams were causing in our engines.
slowride is offline  
post #9 of 28 (permalink) Old 08-09-2018, 03:30 PM Thread Starter
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2015
Posts: 15
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
 
I wish it was the filter, that was my first try. I'm assuming somehow oil is not reaching the sender. But why?

Quote:
Originally Posted by slowride View Post
Quote:
Originally Posted by 84_crusader View Post
Unless I got 2 bad filters in a row from 2 different manufacturers i don't see how it could be the filter.
Highly unlikely and the Fram probably isn't the issue this time. Was just asking as your condition is exactly what Frams were causing in our engines.
84_crusader is offline  
post #10 of 28 (permalink) Old 08-09-2018, 10:50 PM
Senior Member
 
BOSS 429's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: ILL
Posts: 3,667
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 184 Post(s)
 
why not get a real gauge

RICH
CIRCLE (R) 815 712 8738
--------------------------------
BUY,SELL, or TRADE BBF parts
Dynoed or Test STAND RAN
CYLINDER HEAD PORTING
HEAD FLOWING
COMPLETE ENGINES avb
From STOCK to NOT
PRO SYSTEMS CARBS
BOSS 302 351 429 800CI+
BOSS 429 is offline  
post #11 of 28 (permalink) Old 08-10-2018, 10:41 AM Thread Starter
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2015
Posts: 15
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
 
As in a mechanical gage? It's in a boat and I'm not running 20+ feet of oil line to the gage. There's nothing wrong with electric.

Quote:
Originally Posted by BOSS 429 View Post
why not get a real gauge
84_crusader is offline  
post #12 of 28 (permalink) Old 08-10-2018, 10:42 AM
Senior Member
 
BOSS 429's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: ILL
Posts: 3,667
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 184 Post(s)
 
Quote:
Originally Posted by 84_crusader View Post
As in a mechanical gage? It's in a boat and I'm not running 20+ feet of oil line to the gage. There's nothing wrong with electric.
to test it.

RICH
CIRCLE (R) 815 712 8738
--------------------------------
BUY,SELL, or TRADE BBF parts
Dynoed or Test STAND RAN
CYLINDER HEAD PORTING
HEAD FLOWING
COMPLETE ENGINES avb
From STOCK to NOT
PRO SYSTEMS CARBS
BOSS 302 351 429 800CI+
BOSS 429 is offline  
post #13 of 28 (permalink) Old 08-10-2018, 10:47 AM Thread Starter
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2015
Posts: 15
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
 
As I believe I stated already there is no sign of oil at the sender location. For unknown reason oil does not seem to be reaching the sending unit after the oil change.

Quote:
Originally Posted by BOSS 429 View Post
Quote:
Originally Posted by 84_crusader View Post
As in a mechanical gage? It's in a boat and I'm not running 20+ feet of oil line to the gage. There's nothing wrong with electric.
to test it.
84_crusader is offline  
post #14 of 28 (permalink) Old 08-10-2018, 10:48 AM Thread Starter
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2015
Posts: 15
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
 
I will give it a try though. I think I'll try the sender location by the fuel pump also.

Quote:
Originally Posted by 84_crusader View Post
As I believe I stated already there is no sign of oil at the sender location. For unknown reason oil does not seem to be reaching the sending unit after the oil change.

Quote:
Originally Posted by BOSS 429 View Post
Quote:
Originally Posted by 84_crusader View Post
As in a mechanical gage? It's in a boat and I'm not running 20+ feet of oil line to the gage. There's nothing wrong with electric.
to test it.
84_crusader is offline  
post #15 of 28 (permalink) Old 08-10-2018, 11:04 AM
Senior Member
 
BOSS 429's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: ILL
Posts: 3,667
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 184 Post(s)
 
Quote:
Originally Posted by 84_crusader View Post
I will give it a try though. I think I'll try the sender location by the fuel pump also.
no, it belongs in the rear of a oem 460/429 block

RICH
CIRCLE (R) 815 712 8738
--------------------------------
BUY,SELL, or TRADE BBF parts
Dynoed or Test STAND RAN
CYLINDER HEAD PORTING
HEAD FLOWING
COMPLETE ENGINES avb
From STOCK to NOT
PRO SYSTEMS CARBS
BOSS 302 351 429 800CI+
BOSS 429 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the 460 Ford Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in










Thread Tools Search this Thread
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome