Setting timing - 460 Ford Forum
Engine Tech A place to discuss all 385-series engine tech and theory.

User Tag List

 1Likes
  • 1 Post By BOSS 429
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
post #1 of 9 (permalink) Old 05-23-2019, 08:01 PM Thread Starter
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2018
Posts: 24
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8 Post(s)
 
Setting timing

Hello guys I need some help with my 1969 Thunderbird. Okay so car has a 460 in it now and I am putting in a new MSD ignition system. Distributor, wires and coil. A few questions though. What should my timin be set at? Right now the car is hard to start and I was told I have too much advance. Do I need the in line resistor? Or can I just run without it? I have a timing light and I cleaned off the timing marks so I am about to get started, but some helpful tips or whatever would be much appreciated. Engine is D9TE-AB block casting. I am assuming everything on it is pretty much from whatever they pulled it from. Aside from the distributor which was still points. I didn’t however see a resistor on the positive line. Could it be somewhere else? Oh and the carb is a Holley 650.
OneAmongOthers is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 9 (permalink) Old 05-24-2019, 03:03 AM
Junior Member
 
LeglessOne's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2019
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
 
If your coil is an MSD blaster unit you need 12 volt to it - bypass the resistor wire. My Mustang would not fire until I figured this out

I set my initial timing at 12 and set all up at 34. If you've got the 8350 ready to run unit its pretty easy to set your all up timing on.

Shane
LeglessOne is offline  
post #3 of 9 (permalink) Old 05-24-2019, 05:58 AM Thread Starter
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2018
Posts: 24
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8 Post(s)
 
So where is the resistor possibly? I guess inside the car be the ignition switch itself?
OneAmongOthers is offline  
 
post #4 of 9 (permalink) Old 05-24-2019, 08:04 AM
Senior Member
 
FoMoCo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: West Michigan
Posts: 313
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 12 Post(s)
 
MSD told me to leave the resistor wire in the loop on my Galaxie (?) and it's been running good for 20 years. I forgot which wire it is but I had to add the resistor at the external regulator because the engine continues run after turning the key off without it.
FoMoCo is offline  
post #5 of 9 (permalink) Old 05-25-2019, 07:35 PM
Junior Member
 
LeglessOne's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2019
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
 
Quote:
Originally Posted by OneAmongOthers View Post
So where is the resistor possibly? I guess inside the car be the ignition switch itself?
Don't know about TBirds but on Mustangs the resistor wire runes behind the dash (the resistor part of it)then out to to the engine bay - the resistor wire is pink.

I'm running a blaster 3 and until I put a full 12 volt on the coil via a relay off the run wire for the ignition it would not run properly.
LeglessOne is offline  
post #6 of 9 (permalink) Old 05-25-2019, 07:39 PM Thread Starter
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2018
Posts: 24
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8 Post(s)
 
Quote:
Originally Posted by LeglessOne View Post
Don't know about TBirds but on Mustangs the resistor wire runes behind the dash (the resistor part of it)then out to to the engine bay - the resistor wire is pink.

I'm running a blaster 3 and until I put a full 12 volt on the coil via a relay off the run wire for the ignition it would not run properly.
I just picked up the pertronix power relay for my car. I really don't want to dig into the dash and tear anything up looking for a wire. The instrument cluster is not an easy thing to remove.
OneAmongOthers is offline  
post #7 of 9 (permalink) Old 05-25-2019, 10:02 PM
Senior Member
 
BOSS 429's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: ILL
Posts: 3,658
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 184 Post(s)
 
Quote:
Originally Posted by OneAmongOthers View Post
I just picked up the pertronix power relay for my car. I really don't want to dig into the dash and tear anything up looking for a wire. The instrument cluster is not an easy thing to remove.
you dont have to with the pertronix


all the early fords when cranking its 12volts,when you let go of the key for run position it switches to 8v so as not to burn up points

pertronix runs on 6 ,8,or 12, doesnt mater
pedal2themetal45 likes this.

RICH
CIRCLE (R) 815 712 8738
--------------------------------
BUY,SELL, or TRADE BBF parts
Dynoed or Test STAND RAN
CYLINDER HEAD PORTING
HEAD FLOWING
COMPLETE ENGINES avb
From STOCK to NOT
PRO SYSTEMS CARBS
BOSS 302 351 429 800CI+
BOSS 429 is offline  
post #8 of 9 (permalink) Old 05-26-2019, 06:48 PM
Senior Member
 
FoMoCo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: West Michigan
Posts: 313
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 12 Post(s)
 
Wonder why MSD advised me to leave it ?
FoMoCo is offline  
post #9 of 9 (permalink) Old 05-27-2019, 10:03 AM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Sioux City,Ia
Posts: 468
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 97 Post(s)
 
Any MSD setup I have used worked with the resister.I would say that if it doesn't,something is wrong with the resister connection.To the OP......The pink wire to the coil IS the resistor.
thermod is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the 460 Ford Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in










Thread Tools Search this Thread
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
setting timing with MSD 545cimustang-gt Engine Tech 12 08-24-2011 07:28 PM
setting up cam timing emptytruckdriver Engine Tech 3 08-09-2010 02:45 PM
Setting timing on a 94 mustang gt cheatham Chilly's Garage 0 01-03-2009 10:37 AM
Setting timing without engine running IndyPete Engine Tech 6 10-31-2008 09:48 AM
Setting the timing on a 71 460 block with a mild cam blue1978fordbronco Engine Tech 6 10-29-2007 06:23 PM

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome