No temperature reading on dashboard - 460 Ford Forum
Engine Tech A place to discuss all 385-series engine tech and theory.

User Tag List

 
LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
post #1 of 8 (permalink) Old 07-07-2019, 09:45 PM Thread Starter
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2019
Posts: 13
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
 
Hi there. I have got 1973 Continental. I just finished little rebuild project. I have installed new carb, edelbrock intake, new radiator, hoses, thermostat, etc. I also got rid of all the emission system including egr thermo switches. Engine runs good but I don't have temperature reading on my dashboard. I'm using old temperature sensor. So I am not sure if this might be related to the fact I got deleted all the thermo switches? Or is it bad temperature sensor? How can I check my temperature sensor without taking it out of my engine? Can I check it with voltmeter? Should I look for resistance? Thanks for any help
Attached Images
File Type: jpg tmp-cam-5303794232410087229_1562553937508.jpg (18.5 KB, 17 views)
Miner is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 8 (permalink) Old 07-08-2019, 01:27 PM
Senior Member
 
The Mad Porter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Tacoma, WA.
Posts: 8,473
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 2 Thread(s)
Quoted: 511 Post(s)
 
Cool

Quote:
Originally Posted by Miner View Post
Hi there. I have got 1973 Continental. I just finished little rebuild project. I have installed new carb, edelbrock intake, new radiator, hoses, thermostat, etc. I also got rid of all the emission system including egr thermo switches. Engine runs good but I don't have temperature reading on my dashboard. I'm using old temperature sensor. So I am not sure if this might be related to the fact I got deleted all the thermo switches? Or is it bad temperature sensor? How can I check my temperature sensor without taking it out of my engine? Can I check it with voltmeter? Should I look for resistance? Thanks for any help
Ground the temp sensor wire and see if it pegs the gauge.


SJ
used 2b RHP




Scotty J. "AKA" The "Mad Porter"
"EMC 2006" 3rd place finisher
Ported BBF iron head specialist & Aluminum heads from all sources.
Custom ground cams
See our products in the Vendor for sale section
Customized crate engines
ParklandAutoMachine.com
R-H-P.biz
"Parkland Performance Auto Machine" Formerly RHP
(253)-988-6648
http://www.facebook.com/Ppamllc
The Mad Porter is online now  
post #3 of 8 (permalink) Old 07-09-2019, 08:18 PM Thread Starter
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2019
Posts: 13
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
 
Quote:
Originally Posted by The Mad Porter View Post

Ground the temp sensor wire and see if it pegs the gauge.


SJ
used 2b RHP



<img src="https://460ford.com/forum/images/smilies/biggrin.gif" border="0" alt="" title="Very Happy" class="inlineimg" />
I did what you said. There is two wires; red and yellow. With ground hooked up to the red one I got the reading, but gauge shows max temperature. I don't think that's right &#x1f914;
Miner is offline  
 
post #4 of 8 (permalink) Old 07-09-2019, 08:47 PM
Senior Member
 
The Mad Porter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Tacoma, WA.
Posts: 8,473
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 2 Thread(s)
Quoted: 511 Post(s)
 
Cool

Quote:
Originally Posted by Miner View Post
I did what you said. There is two wires; red and yellow. With ground hooked up to the red one I got the reading, but gauge shows max temperature. I don't think that's right &#x1f914;

Pegging the gauge is what is supposed to happen. Do you have a temp light as well?



SJ
used 2b RHP



Scotty J. "AKA" The "Mad Porter"
"EMC 2006" 3rd place finisher
Ported BBF iron head specialist & Aluminum heads from all sources.
Custom ground cams
See our products in the Vendor for sale section
Customized crate engines
ParklandAutoMachine.com
R-H-P.biz
"Parkland Performance Auto Machine" Formerly RHP
(253)-988-6648
http://www.facebook.com/Ppamllc
The Mad Porter is online now  
post #5 of 8 (permalink) Old 07-09-2019, 09:59 PM Thread Starter
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2019
Posts: 13
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
 
Quote:
Originally Posted by The Mad Porter View Post


Pegging the gauge is what is supposed to happen. Do you have a temp light as well?



SJ
used 2b RHP


<img src="https://460ford.com/forum/images/smilies/biggrin.gif" border="0" alt="" title="Very Happy" class="inlineimg" />
Not that I know of, no.
Miner is offline  
post #6 of 8 (permalink) Old 07-10-2019, 09:50 PM Thread Starter
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2019
Posts: 13
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
 
Quote:
Originally Posted by Miner View Post
Quote:
Originally Posted by The Mad Porter View Post


Pegging the gauge is what is supposed to happen. Do you have a temp light as well?



SJ
used 2b RHP


<img src="https://460ford.com/forum/images/smilies/biggrin.gif" border="0" alt="" title="Very Happy" class="inlineimg" />
Not that I know of, no.
I tried to hook up my old thermo switches into the harnes to see if this will change anything but no success.

I found something like this online:
"While the engine is running you need to be continually checking the digital ohm meter. You are looking for readings that are more than 200 ohms in variance between a cold and warm engine. If you do not see anything that is more than 200 ohms in difference, the coolant temperature sensor is defective and will need to be replaced."

Is that true? In my case at some point when engine gets warm I stop getting any readings.
Miner is offline  
post #7 of 8 (permalink) Old 07-17-2019, 11:43 AM Thread Starter
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2019
Posts: 13
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
 
Quote:
Originally Posted by The Mad Porter View Post


Pegging the gauge is what is supposed to happen. Do you have a temp light as well?



SJ
used 2b RHP


<img src="https://460ford.com/forum/images/smilies/biggrin.gif" border="0" alt="" title="Very Happy" class="inlineimg" />
So I guess I do have temp light, because my temperature sensor have to prongs, that's my assumption. I don't know where it would be located on the dash though.
Miner is offline  
post #8 of 8 (permalink) Old 07-17-2019, 02:35 PM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Boise, Idaho
Posts: 322
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 32 Post(s)
 
hi a temperature light well be one of the red idiot light that comes on when you turn the key on before you start the motor. might have a picture of an oil can or the motor. if you have one.
good luck
tim

61 Comet W/200
http://s82.photobucket.com/user/peda...tml?sort=6&o=0
64 International 4dr. truck w/545 stroker
http://s82.photobucket.com/user/peda...tml?sort=6&o=0
76 Plymouth fury, 76 Olds, 84 Ranger and 56 CJ5
pedal2themetal45 is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the 460 Ford Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in










Thread Tools Search this Thread
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome