460 overheating problem - 460 Ford Forum
Engine Tech A place to discuss all 385-series engine tech and theory.

User Tag List

LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
post #1 of 22 (permalink) Old 03-15-2006, 10:03 AM Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)

460 overheating problem

Hello all, i'm new to the site. I have a 73 460 in my bronco and actually just got it road worthy. I am having trouble with overheating. I'm new to ford big blocks and don't know if they have a problem with overheating. I'm running a heavy duty 3 core (bronco) radiator with dual electric fans. Within 20 minutes of driving my temp guage is at a 200 and rising on a 10 mile drive it pegged at 260 and I had antifreeze every where. It seemed to overheat quicker if I drove faster. I had it at idle in front of my house for 30 min. and it never went over 180. Can anyone please give me some advice on what I should do. I have no clue why it keeps overheating. Any help would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 22 (permalink) Old 03-16-2006, 09:39 PM

Quoted: 4 Post(s)