Integrated power controller. - 460 Ford Forum
Chilly's Garage A place for non-460 banter.

User Tag List

 
LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
post #1 of 3 (permalink) Old 06-02-2006, 12:00 AM Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: San Jose, CA
Posts: 2,185
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
 
Integrated power controller.

Any interest in something like this? I just completed it for my car. I've built 2 more for friends.

What is it? 16 channel automotive power controller and fuse box all in one 6x9 package. 4 channels can handle 40A each and accept up to 8ga wire. 12 channels can handle 20A each and accept up to 10ga wire. It's a hot-side controller with ground-side low-current control inputs and an optional PC Parallel port interface for those of us that have on-board computers. I have one that runs my dash (it's a 12.1" LCD). In my case, the PC controls everything. My dash has 2 buttons...on and start. Everything else is via the computer/display.

What do you do with it? Bolt it into the car, run hot wires to it. Chassis ground everything. Run tiny (even as small as 30ga) wires to the inputs and ground them to turn on the channels. In other words, you can have microswitches controlling everything. It also has a built in blinker circuit for turns and hazards.

Anyway, it was suggested by friends that I should turn it into a product. Any interest? It would have to sell for at least $250 to make it worthwhile. It sure makes it easy to wire a custom rod, I'm just not sure people really would pay the price.


www.RaceSystems.com
Home of Project Ludicrous Speed
ByronRACE is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 3 (permalink) Old 06-02-2006, 03:20 PM Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: San Jose, CA
Posts: 2,185
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
 
LOL

33 views, no replies. I guess that answers that question!

www.RaceSystems.com
Home of Project Ludicrous Speed
ByronRACE is offline  
post #3 of 3 (permalink) Old 06-02-2006, 03:38 PM
Senior Member
 
Doug Rahn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Springfield, GA
Posts: 1,990
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
 
That is nice. If I hadn't already bought my wiring system, I would love to have that. It sure is easier to run the smaller wires in bundles than something like 14 ga. Who knows I may change my mind and sell what I have and contact you. I have been known to change my mind from time to time, just ask Lem and Charlie, :lol:
Doug Rahn is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the 460 Ford Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in










Thread Tools Search this Thread
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
LOW POWER SCJF350 Engine Tech 17 06-03-2006 12:18 AM
SHORT POWER NEED CAM JOETRANS460 Engine Tech 25 05-12-2006 10:19 PM
driveability of purely street cars above 600hp? chilly Engine Tech Archive 0 05-09-2006 11:11 AM
Weird High RPM power jump chilly Engine Tech Archive 0 01-30-2006 08:56 AM
Ignition Experts help! Power drop after changing plugs chilly Engine Tech Archive 0 01-24-2006 09:04 AM

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome