O/T...looking at handguns - 460 Ford Forum
Chilly's Garage A place for non-460 banter.

User Tag List

LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
post #1 of 62 (permalink) Old 08-21-2006, 02:27 PM Thread Starter
Forum Contributor

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)

O/T...looking at handguns

Not that anything is really O/T in this forum.

I shoot quite a bit of sporting clays and am well versed in shotguns, but I'm an absolute newbie in handguns. I've found that many "car" guys are also "gun" guys...so figured it's not a bad place to ask.

I have no idea what I really want, not having enough experience to narrow things down. The only thing I know is that I'll be doing a lot of "plinking" so to speak, I won't be carrying the gun, and I don't want a .22.

This Sunday I shot a handgun for the first time, tried a 2" barrel .357 mag, a 4" .38 SW, a 9mm Beretta 92FS, and a 9mm Glock 61.

The snubnose was a riot with .357 ammo, but not much for accuracty. The SW shot great, but I do not like the grip to trigger relationship...had to **** my hand at an angle to pull the trigger. I loved the Beretta, it was the most accurate and felt best in my hand. The Glock was a rental and felt pretty good, but I prefer a bit heavier gun and had a tough time reaching the slide release on the Glock.

So, I want to evaluate some good revolvers as well...please let me know some alternatives.

From what I understand, some good semis to try as well are the HK UCP, Sig 226, Ruger 345. I'm not sold on any caliber yet, thinking 9mm or .40 for semi....38/.357 for a revolver.

Discussion of pros/cons of any is appreciated. I don't mind a large framed gun at all, and would like to keep price around $600 for my first handgun.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 62 (permalink) Old 08-21-2006, 02:44 PM
dfree383

Mentioned: Post(s)
Tagged: Thread(s)
Quoted: Post(s)
Hey Chilly,