electronic gauges suck - 460 Ford Forum
Chilly's Garage A place for non-460 banter.

User Tag List

 
LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
post #1 of 12 (permalink) Old 02-02-2007, 06:35 PM Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Oak Harbor, OH
Posts: 304
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
 
electronic gauges suck

So I bought a pair of these cyberdyne fuel pressure gauges
http://store.summitracing.com/partdetai ... toview=sku

Anyways, they have been a complete pain in the a$$ because my mechanical gauge reads between 9 and 11 psi without the engine running, just the fuel pump is running, causing the pressure creep. well, the digital gauge almost always reads 6 psi. when the actual pressure reaches 11, it reads 7. I know the mechanical gauge is right because I checked it against another brand of gauge and it is spot on between them. I've changed grounds, added grounds, rerouted wires, and to top it all off, when I went to turn off the annoying as hell low pressure flash on one of the gauges, I start to turn the little screw adjuster in the back, and the thing BREAKS OFF. I'm ready to get something different
Fordguy545 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 12 (permalink) Old 02-02-2007, 07:45 PM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: San Jose, CA
Posts: 2,185
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
 
Electronic gauges

A lot of these fuel pressure gauges use pressure transducers that rely on engine ground for sensor ground, and ground through the NPT thread on the sender itself.

If you use teflon tape and create electrical isolation (or partial electrical isolation), you create a problem.

Additionally, if the engine is not WELL grounded, and/or if the gauge portion of the system is not grounded to the exact same point as the sender portion of the system, the differences in electrical potential on the ground terminal will cause enough variation to create error in the measurement. Try grounding both sides at the same place and see if the results don't agree better.

Well, perhaps you can't now...if something broke off, but if you can...try it.

www.RaceSystems.com
Home of Project Ludicrous Speed
ByronRACE is offline  
post #3 of 12 (permalink) Old 02-02-2007, 08:13 PM Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Oak Harbor, OH
Posts: 304
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
 
I tried that using jumper wires with aligator clips. put both the gauge ground and sender ground to the engine ground. Didn't make any difference.
Fordguy545 is offline  
 
post #4 of 12 (permalink) Old 02-02-2007, 09:33 PM
Senior Member
 
Chuck Stevens's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: ELIMINATOR dealer Somis, CA
Posts: 2,227
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
 
Almost too long ago to remember, I lost an engine because of the sloooow response of an electric oil pressure gauge. I won't use electric gauges, on important functions, because of that.

Some people can break a cannon ball, in a sand box, with their bare hands.
Chuck Stevens is offline  
post #5 of 12 (permalink) Old 02-03-2007, 10:25 AM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: New Orleans, LA
Posts: 1,979
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
 
Don't use Teflon tape, Use Teflon paste and use it sparingly. Make sure the threads are clean on the engine side too..... Make sure the engine is grounded VERY well.

If need be use and ohm meter and measure the resistance from the sender body(ground) and the negative battery terminal. The resistance should be ZERO....... If all of this checks out then I'd say send it back, it's bad.... I don't like the automotive electric stuff for the main reason is that it's cheap......

The industrial electric stuff is awesome and rock solid reliable, BUT almost 4-5 times the price of the auto stuff too......

Even with saying all of that I'll probably throw some electric gaugeas in my pickup, just because they are easier to install and plumb up to the a-pillar gauge pod.....

John


87 Mustang, 514, glide, etc...
jbozzelle is offline  
post #6 of 12 (permalink) Old 02-03-2007, 11:15 AM Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Oak Harbor, OH
Posts: 304
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
 
I've had good luck with the Autometer electric street rod series gauges I put in. they seem just as quick as any gauge out there IMO.

I think I'm just going to return the cyberdyne's and spend the money and get something good. It just sucks I need to buy 2 :shock:
Fordguy545 is offline  
post #7 of 12 (permalink) Old 02-03-2007, 11:32 AM
PBR
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 313
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
 
I've got the Automoeter UltraLites and they are spot on as well.



The a/f gauges are run off of my LC-1's analog 2 channel and output 1 - 0V representing 12 - 16 AFR. Poor mans AFR guage Verification of AFR comes from the AEM and an LM-1 that doesn't stay in the car.
PBR is offline  
post #8 of 12 (permalink) Old 02-03-2007, 11:41 AM
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 40
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
 
Tac

:?: How's it, that the RPM is showing approx 1200 and the other gages are indicating it's not running?
smjrhp1 is offline  
post #9 of 12 (permalink) Old 02-03-2007, 11:44 AM
PBR
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 313
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
 
Re: Tac

Quote:
Originally Posted by smjrhp1
:?: How's it, that the RPM is showing approx 1200 and the other gages are indicating it's not running?
For one reason or another thats where it sits when you kill power to it, turn on the key and it goes to 0 - when not running, been that way since I got it out of the box.
PBR is offline  
post #10 of 12 (permalink) Old 02-03-2007, 11:48 AM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: New Orleans, LA
Posts: 1,979
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
 
Re: Tac

Quote:
Originally Posted by smjrhp1
:?: How's it, that the RPM is showing approx 1200 and the other gages are indicating it's not running?
Just about all tachs will do that. They are receiving NO voltage when powered down so they don't know where to go....... It's common....

John


87 Mustang, 514, glide, etc...
jbozzelle is offline  
post #11 of 12 (permalink) Old 02-03-2007, 03:31 PM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 1,718
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
 
Re: Tac

Quote:
Originally Posted by smjrhp1
:?: How's it, that the RPM is showing approx 1200 and the other gages are indicating it's not running?
Yeah.....it's normal. Walk around the pits and look at all the tachs......I doubt you'll find any GOOD ones at zero with the ignition off.

The older I get, the smarter Dad was.
Maverick is offline  
post #12 of 12 (permalink) Old 02-03-2007, 04:43 PM Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Oak Harbor, OH
Posts: 304
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
 
I yanked out the cyberdyne's and will send them back to summit and get something different. I hate having to buy stuff multiple times :evil:
Fordguy545 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the 460 Ford Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in










Thread Tools Search this Thread
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome