C6 shifting ? - 460 Ford Forum
Chilly's Garage A place for non-460 banter.

User Tag List

 
LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
post #1 of 10 (permalink) Old 02-19-2007, 08:58 AM Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
jones's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Philadelphia, Mississippi
Posts: 4,396
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
 
C6 shifting ?

I just had my C6 transmission rebuilt and also installed a shift kit. I have noticed that when I manually shift from 1st to 2nd it doesn't do it exactly when I shift it.

It takes a second for it to shift. It's not like it is slipping, it just doesn't do it exactly when I want to. Is this normal or is there a problem? It works great when I just put it in "D" and let it shift on it's own.
jones is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 10 (permalink) Old 02-19-2007, 10:50 AM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: vancouver, washington
Posts: 607
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
 
are you putting around or hammering on it when your shifting?
tubais is offline  
post #3 of 10 (permalink) Old 02-19-2007, 11:07 AM Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
jones's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Philadelphia, Mississippi
Posts: 4,396
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
 
Quote:
Originally Posted by tubais
are you putting around or hammering on it when your shifting?
Full throttle going down the track. I was trying to shift at a certian rpm and I shifted and it stayed in gear and pulled about 500-1000 more rpm and then shifted. It didn't seem like it was slipping.

When the transmission guy rebuilt the trans he was having problems with it wanting to start out in second gear ever so often. He told me he put some type of aditive that should help it out. He told me that these old transmissions just need to run a little a get hot a couple of times before they start working right. It has only started off in second once with me since I got the trans back from him. (I thought I would just throw that in. I have about 250-300 miles on it now)

Edit: It pulled more than 400 because I was scared it was never going to shift and it almost went to 6000 when I was trying to shift about 5,000.
jones is offline  
 
post #4 of 10 (permalink) Old 02-19-2007, 05:56 PM
Senior Member
 
FoMoCo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: West Michigan
Posts: 319
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 16 Post(s)
 
*He told me that these old transmissions just need to run a little a get hot a couple of times before they start working right* :shock:

My cheeta vb C6 shifts like that sometimes but the delay is only 200 or so rpms. Its a manual/auto vb and to tell you the truth it shifts better and I run faster letting it auto shift at full throttle.
FoMoCo is offline  
post #5 of 10 (permalink) Old 02-19-2007, 06:10 PM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Utica, MI
Posts: 516
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
 
delayed shift

Try disconnecting the kickdown link and go out for a runand manual shift. If it shafts instantly upon your control the kick down link will need to be adjusted to a lower setting. Other items to look at is the modulator and make sure that the modulator rod was installed after the rebuild.
A vacuum leak on the modulator line will cause the shift pt to dwell.

Those are the only external circumstances that I have experianced.
If it's the kick down just leave it off who needs it anyway.

Dave

69 Mustang ProStreet 580 E85
9.0 @ 148

70 Torino 521
[email protected]
Dave D is offline  
post #6 of 10 (permalink) Old 02-19-2007, 06:37 PM
Senior Member
 
Frank Merkl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Brooks Alberta Canada
Posts: 2,005
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 13 Post(s)
 
sounds like he only did half an overhaul, ie ; never bothered with the low/reverse piston seals or the govenor
just my .02
Frank
what's the line pressure?
Frank Merkl is offline  
post #7 of 10 (permalink) Old 02-19-2007, 07:49 PM
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 208
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
 
Quote:
Originally Posted by FoMoCo
*He told me that these old transmissions just need to run a little a get hot a couple of times before they start working right* :shock:

My cheeta vb C6 shifts like that sometimes but the delay is only 200 or so rpms. Its a manual/auto vb and to tell you the truth it shifts better and I run faster letting it auto shift at full throttle.
My C6 has a fairbanks kit in it and it runs better in drive also. My c-4s with stock valve bodies and shift kits also ran better in drive. When manually shifting it shouldnt matter what the kickdown or vac modulator is seeing, right? or no.
BB68coupe is offline  
post #8 of 10 (permalink) Old 02-19-2007, 11:13 PM Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
jones's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Philadelphia, Mississippi
Posts: 4,396
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
 
I am not using a kick down linkage.


When he first got the trans installed he said he didn't think I had enough vacume. I told him it pulls 16inch pounds at 750-800rpm because I had a vacume gauge on the same tree as the vacume line runing to the trans when I was tuning the carb.

Could my shift linkage be wrong? I have been meaning to check the linkage. When I set the linkage I put the lever in drive and put the column in drive and then tighten down. I wonder this because it's touchy now with the safety switch.
jones is offline  
post #9 of 10 (permalink) Old 02-20-2007, 11:40 AM
Senior Member
 
FoMoCo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: West Michigan
Posts: 319
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 16 Post(s)
 
I do not run a kick down either but trans shifts the same with or without one.
FoMoCo is offline  
post #10 of 10 (permalink) Old 02-23-2007, 05:28 PM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Grand Rapids MI
Posts: 561
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
 
tranny

Take the vacume hose off the modulator valve and check for a set screw if it has one tighten it up 1/2 turn at a time till it shifts better. If trans fluid leaks out of the modulator replace it.
Hope this helps Gregg
zephyrracer is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the 460 Ford Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in










Thread Tools Search this Thread
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome