My nephew needs help with a Ford stats math problem - 460 Ford Forum
Chilly's Garage A place for non-460 banter.

User Tag List

LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
post #1 of 3 (permalink) Old 02-21-2007, 03:07 PM Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)

My nephew needs help with a Ford stats math problem

This is a bit unusual, but bear with me, it's for a good cause.
My nephew Dee is a very bright high school junior and he needs a little help from you the motley assortment of ford owners out there.

Read on:

Hi
I am a high school student here in Utah, a junior at Layton HS. I am currently taking an AP math course, and I have a statistical math project that I need to complete. I need to create a statistical problem that I can solve on paper and then prove my solution in the real world.
My uncle is Dane V from Ford Auto Wrecking. (He let me use his account)
and he suggested this problem:

If a key and lock maker makes a lock that takes a key that has 5 tumblers in it and there are 5 different sizes of tumbler pins;

How many unique key and lock combinations are made?

This is subject to a couple rules:
1. the lock will NOT have 5 tumblers of the same size or have 4 of the same size
2. the lock can have 3 tumblers of the same size if the other two are each different sized.

I guess this is how Ford locks and keys of the 60-70s cars are made,

The second part is:

If a collector, collects 100 keys and 100 locks from random sources how many matches of keys to locks will he have?

I can solve this problem with math, but I also need to show if my answer is right, and I can do that I think to the second part.

My uncle gave me a box of locks and keys from various fords he has in his yard.
So far I have about 75 various locks, ignition doors trunks and I have about 40 keys.

I need more keys to be able to prove the second parts of the problem Thatís why I thought I would post on this board, and ask for some.