swap mounts - 460 Ford Forum
Chilly's Garage A place for non-460 banter.

User Tag List

 
LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
post #1 of 12 (permalink) Old 04-10-2007, 03:06 PM Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 21
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
 
swap mounts

ok.... im running into some reliability issue w/ my fms 460 fox mounts. they swear that they should hold fine, but i keep snapping them like toothpicks. does anybody produce any good solid motor mounts for the fox chassis. i cant find them and i don't feel comfortable making them
turbo 460 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 12 (permalink) Old 04-10-2007, 08:07 PM
Senior Member
 
BBBob_M's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Canyon Lake, Texas
Posts: 1,033
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
 
I have the jig built but haven't had time to start building them yet. You have a P.M.

A torque strap or link from the block or head to the left framerail should eliminate your breakage probs until you get a better set of mounts installed. I recommend a torque link no matter what side mounds you run anyway.

Here's a pic of a set I built for an SN95 Mustang here in Austin.






.

Bob Meyer
www.BIGBLOCKFOX.com
'69 Mach1 390 4-spd, '64 Falcon Futura
BBBob_M is offline  
post #3 of 12 (permalink) Old 04-10-2007, 10:57 PM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 1,642
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
 
BobM,The motor mounts you made look like some nice

pieces.I agree on the torque strap i have one on my car and the motor mounts seem to hold up good with it.I have mine bolted to front of passenger side head and run down to the old sway bar mount.I drilled a hole in the front side of the sway bar mount.It works out pretty good only needed a couple washers for where it bolts to the head and it's pretty much a straight shot to the sway bar mount from there.

Later Mark.
Mark Miller is offline  
 
post #4 of 12 (permalink) Old 04-11-2007, 08:09 AM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Davenport, Iowa
Posts: 259
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
 
Mark, I'm having a serious brain fart here ,should'nt the limiting strap or link be attached between the DRIVERS side block or head and sway bar mount? Or am I going to have to remount mine? My car is'nt here to go look at.
magmanmick is offline  
post #5 of 12 (permalink) Old 04-11-2007, 08:36 AM
PBR
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 313
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
 
Quote:
Originally Posted by magmanmick
Mark, I'm having a serious brain fart here ,should'nt the limiting strap or link be attached between the DRIVERS side block or head and sway bar mount?
True statement
PBR is offline  
post #6 of 12 (permalink) Old 04-11-2007, 11:29 AM
Senior Member
 
Chuck Stevens's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: ELIMINATOR dealer Somis, CA
Posts: 2,227
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
 
Typically the drivers side (USA) mount is torn by torque lifting that side of the motor. As torque is in the opposite direction to crank rotation (Newton's law of equal and opposite reaction) the restraint needs to be on the lift, drivers, side.

Some people can break a cannon ball, in a sand box, with their bare hands.
Chuck Stevens is offline  
post #7 of 12 (permalink) Old 04-11-2007, 11:43 AM
PBR
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 313
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
 
Quote:
Originally Posted by Chuck Stevens
Typically the drivers side (USA) mount is torn by torque lifting that side of the motor. As torque is in the opposite direction to crank rotation (Newton's law of equal and opposite reaction) the restraint needs to be on the lift, drivers, side.
I guess I should be making more power then
PBR is offline  
post #8 of 12 (permalink) Old 04-11-2007, 10:58 PM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 1,642
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
 
I screwed up guys mine is bolted to the drivers side head

not the passenger side head.I must have had a brain fart when i was typing that last night.

Later Mark.
Mark Miller is offline  
post #9 of 12 (permalink) Old 08-07-2007, 02:14 PM
Senior Member
 
Phantasea466's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Lawrenceburg, KY
Posts: 6,697
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
 
Bob,

You making those mounts yet? Anyone have a picture of a torque strap in a Fox Chassis?

bump for Denaro, he needs to see a picture of how you guys set it up :idea:



Never pay again for live sex! | Hot girls doing naughty stuff for free! | Chat for free!

Damon Sea
1983 Mustang
534ci

"If it doesn't fit, Force it. If it breaks then it needed to be replaced anyway"
http://photobucket.com/albums/f75/Phantasea466
Phantasea466 is offline  
post #10 of 12 (permalink) Old 08-07-2007, 08:12 PM
Senior Member
 
cletus66's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Charles City, Virginia
Posts: 2,851
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 29 Post(s)
 
Here's my hi tech torque strap made of unobtainium alloy.





I installed it at the bash after my air cleaner wingnut jumped up and dimpled my hood. :evil:

Where's my beer and that half inch wrench?

http://i168.photobucket.com/albums/u...cecar066-1.jpg
cletus66 is offline  
post #11 of 12 (permalink) Old 08-08-2007, 06:46 AM
Senior Member
 
Phantasea466's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Lawrenceburg, KY
Posts: 6,697
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
 
Jeff,

That sure is a BIG looking 390 High Performance



Never pay again for live sex! | Hot girls doing naughty stuff for free! | Chat for free!

Damon Sea
1983 Mustang
534ci

"If it doesn't fit, Force it. If it breaks then it needed to be replaced anyway"
http://photobucket.com/albums/f75/Phantasea466
Phantasea466 is offline  
post #12 of 12 (permalink) Old 08-08-2007, 07:27 AM
Senior Member
 
cletus66's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Charles City, Virginia
Posts: 2,851
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 29 Post(s)
 
LOL..

:lol: :lol: I bought a 5.0 dual snorkel air cleaner from s_stang. I figure if it's gonna run like a 5.0, it should look like a 5.0. It's too big to fit under my stock hood :evil: so I'm going to install a factory scoop like I have on my '82. I hope some fresh air will help it run. I'm also going to buy some of those roller rockers from Randy, and I might buy a real cam (solid) to go with them. :twisted: :lol: :lol: But you should hear all the comments about my 390 HP. :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol:

Where's my beer and that half inch wrench?

http://i168.photobucket.com/albums/u...cecar066-1.jpg
cletus66 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the 460 Ford Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in










Thread Tools Search this Thread
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome