will someone explain how stall converters work to me? - 460 Ford Forum
Chilly's Garage A place for non-460 banter.

User Tag List

LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
post #1 of 9 (permalink) Old 05-09-2007, 07:32 PM Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)

will someone explain how stall converters work to me?

im new to automatics and i dont have a clue on how stalls work, whats to big for the street, how do you choose a stall converter for street/strip duty, whats best for my combo, does a 4000 stall mean that it flashes at 4000 or the car wont move with foot on gas and break until 4k. basically anything you guys can school me on the subject would be greatly appreciated. thanx in advance.

steve
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 9 (permalink) Old 05-09-2007, 08:06 PM

Choosing the right stall converter is best left to a knowledable converter manufacturer. They will ask you for a lot of info like camshaft timing, rear end gear, car weight, type of carburetion etc.

They will recommend a size and stall based on a lot of experience and trial and error testing they have done.

Stall is generally how high the rpm will go with the trans locked and the engine at full throttle. (on the trans brake)

On a foot brake car where you stand on the brakes and rev the engine until the rear tire just starts to turn you generally see that stall being a little lower. Then when you let off the brake and mash the gas to the floor the converter will flash to a higher rpm that is probably close to the regular stall rating.

Every car and every combo is different so like I say best to pick a good suppplier close to where you live and have him recomend something. Then if it doesnt work out they will often adjust it for a small fee. sometimes even free if they miss the mark by a lot the first time.

dkp

572 67 Mustang Super Gas
289 4 spd 68 Mustang Fastback
post #3 of 9 (permalink) Old 05-09-2007, 08:10 PM