Way Toooooo Tight! - 460 Ford Forum
Chilly's Garage A place for non-460 banter.

User Tag List

 
LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
post #1 of 12 (permalink) Old 09-30-2007, 10:10 AM Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Southfield, Michigan
Posts: 1,303
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
 
Way Toooooo Tight!

Do any of you guys know where I can get a longer STOCK throttle cable from? Mine is just a little too short, it's off a 1985 GT. I don't want an after market cable unless I have to get one as a last resort.

Are the cables on the older mustangs a little bit longer than the cables on a foxbody?

My carburetor is a Dominator...Thanks

I had to take the valve covers off in order to get the cable on!


D's557BBF is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 12 (permalink) Old 09-30-2007, 10:24 AM
Senior Member
 
Coupe Devil's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Myrtle Beach, SC
Posts: 1,371
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
 
Ive run into this problem before. I dont remember what I used on that car. Might look for an OLDER model cable.. see how long they are.

1990 GT, 347 / 76mm turbo setup OUT AND GONE!

New setup going in. Dove headed 545 with a plate kit to 400, progressive, Th400 etc. etc. etc.
Coupe Devil is offline  
post #3 of 12 (permalink) Old 09-30-2007, 10:36 AM
Senior Member
 
ThndrChkn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Helena,Montana
Posts: 3,195
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
 
Check and see if you can find a cable from a truck. I believe they're longer. I'll look in my stash, I may have an extra one. LMK if you can't find one...










Doug... 8)

[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC] '86 F150... 521 w/ FRPP SCJ Heads, Glide...
Best ET: 1/8---6.17 @ 112 mph N/A @ 1200'
6.34 @ 112 mph N/A @ 5000'
1/4---9.73 @ 136 mph N/A @ 1200'
9.97 @ 135 mph N/A @ 5000'
ThndrChkn is offline  
 
post #4 of 12 (permalink) Old 09-30-2007, 11:07 AM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Savannah, Ga
Posts: 846
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 13 Post(s)
 
You might want to check out a cable for a 4cylinder Fox. Seems I rememeber them being longer.

Mike Stevens
Member of "The Band of Brothers"
2011 American Swingarm, 615" A Head
Engine built by Oakley MotorSports...
1.008,4.55 @ 153.06
Eliminator Products dealer
Thanks "Geez." RIP
QtrWarrior is offline  
post #5 of 12 (permalink) Old 09-30-2007, 12:27 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Holland Michigan
Posts: 147
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
 
Any of the fuel injected V-8 cars have longer cables because the throttlebody is on the passenger side,I think the ends are the same,that's what I'm using on my car.

Gregg Sheridan
nos-stang is offline  
post #6 of 12 (permalink) Old 09-30-2007, 01:43 PM
Senior Member
 
Doug Rahn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Springfield, GA
Posts: 1,990
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
 
Can you go with a rod type linkage? I had a cable on mine but I just didn't like the feel of it and I figured one day it was going to break at the worst time and lose a race. So I went with and adjustable rod linkage.

Doug Rahn is offline  
post #7 of 12 (permalink) Old 09-30-2007, 03:55 PM Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Southfield, Michigan
Posts: 1,303
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
 
Quote:
Originally Posted by ThndrChkn
Check and see if you can find a cable from a truck. I believe they're longer. I'll look in my stash, I may have an extra one. LMK if you can't find one...
Doug... 8)
No I can't find one, I will buy yours if you find it. Thanks
D's557BBF is offline  
post #8 of 12 (permalink) Old 09-30-2007, 04:45 PM
Senior Member
 
D.I.L.L.I.G.A.S.'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Texas
Posts: 1,960
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
 
Agree with Doug. A mech link with an adjustable slip fit setup like his is the way to go. Gives you a lot more adjustability & makes it easier to use many different carbs/intakes without having to make new rods every time.

D.I.L.L.I.G.A.S. Dave::
460 street '66 Ranchero.......................finished someday.
460 race '70 Maverick..........................finished someday.
All 'glass Top Sportsman '69 Mustang......ummm, check back when I win big playing the Texas Lotto, or online poker.
My youtube page. Some ancient & newer local race video.

Join the Poker Players Alliance (theppa.org). US online poker should NOT be turned into a crime.
D.I.L.L.I.G.A.S. is offline  
post #9 of 12 (permalink) Old 09-30-2007, 05:52 PM
Senior Member
 
TopSportsman916's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: NC
Posts: 1,778
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
 
Quote:
Originally Posted by Doug Rahn
Can you go with a rod type linkage? I had a cable on mine but I just didn't like the feel of it and I figured one day it was going to break at the worst time and lose a race. So I went with and adjustable rod linkage.

Doug, damn nice throttle linkage. Where did you get the rubber boot w/retainer ring for the linkage. I really like that. I wouldn't mind one on my car.

Chris

VPRC 1998 Mustang
557 CJ :1.15 60', [email protected] mph @ 2600lbs
665 C&C Hemi : To Be Determined
http://img146.imageshack.us/img146/2158/ricksadql2.jpg
TopSportsman916 is offline  
post #10 of 12 (permalink) Old 09-30-2007, 06:22 PM
Senior Member
 
Doug Rahn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Springfield, GA
Posts: 1,990
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
 
Chris.
Thanks! I got the seal from http://www.sealsit.com/grommet_series6.asp Their web site has the photos and series numbers mixed up, but the correct part number is GS4001-WPT.
Doug Rahn is offline  
post #11 of 12 (permalink) Old 09-30-2007, 06:59 PM
Member
 
BigBlockFalcon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Pmbroke Pines/Loxahatchee, FL
Posts: 188
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
 
Send a message via AIM to BigBlockFalcon
I bought a Lokar cable fo rmy Mustang. My car was a 4cylinder car and that cable is way to long.


On my Falcon we made a rod. I like the feel of the linkage than the cable.

90 Notch 69 351W bored .030 over

68 Falcon Full Cage and FE 487ci. Blown up FE

Driver (77 Mustang II) BBF 503ci PG trans, Dana 60 rear, 4.10 gears, Full Chassis car
BigBlockFalcon is offline  
post #12 of 12 (permalink) Old 09-30-2007, 10:32 PM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 1,642
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
 
I'm using a mid 70's Lincoln 460 throttle cable on my 89

Mustang.I don't have a Dominator carb,i'm using a 1000 cfm 4150 style carb.

Later Mark.
Mark Miller is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the 460 Ford Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in










Thread Tools Search this Thread
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome