Started turbo engine - 460 Ford Forum
Chilly's Garage A place for non-460 banter.

User Tag List

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
post #1 of 18 (permalink) Old 04-14-2008, 06:57 PM Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 153
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
 
Started turbo engine

After a long day got my 533 started , the ACCEL dfi gave us some fits
but we got it. It idle good and got tune to rev up to 3000 but wideband wasn't working so we won't rev it until we can log aht air/fuel.
Had a couple minor coolant leaks, and need to relash valves very loud.
Was all good until oil started to leak out back after running for a while.
not sure if back of pan or rear main, i am installing dye this weekend and hit it with black light to pinpoint. Seems to have alot of blowby when warm but ring probable haven't seated in our short run time.
Man for a 533 with a 780 cam, with dual 4 inch mufflers its quite!
Trying not to get frustated and look at the positive of 2 year project finaly starting.
wally
cubicgator is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 18 (permalink) Old 04-14-2008, 07:52 PM
Senior Member
 
skosler's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Cistern, Texas (Southeast of Austin)
Posts: 2,021
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
 
congrats. What hp are you expecting? One of these days I'll have me one :twisted:

Sharpen your pitchforks and light your torches... 'CHANGE' is coming!

We say grace, and we say ma'am, if you ain't into that we don't give a damn... cause a country boy can survive!
skosler is offline  
post #3 of 18 (permalink) Old 04-14-2008, 07:53 PM
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 179
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
 
The turbo acts as a muffler that is why it is so quiet.
Turbokid15 is offline  
 
post #4 of 18 (permalink) Old 04-14-2008, 10:06 PM
Senior Member
 
jones's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Philadelphia, Mississippi
Posts: 4,396
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
 
Awsome!

How do you like the Accel DFI setup?

93 528cu Lightning
jones is offline  
post #5 of 18 (permalink) Old 04-15-2008, 05:28 PM Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 153
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
 
The accell is great , my tuner/freind at ALLFORDPERF only uses accell and built 2 high end turbo cars last year. It is very user freindly, only bad is the wide band sensors are very expensive if they burn out.
He had a base tune and started in just minutes, the hard part is when we start to dyno.
walter
cubicgator is offline  
post #6 of 18 (permalink) Old 04-15-2008, 05:45 PM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: San Jose, CA
Posts: 2,185
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
 
Wideband sensors

Most of these wideband sensors are direct crosses to some OEM sensor. What does it use? Most are under $80 these days.

Also, where and how do you have them mounted? They should always be on the top or side of the pipe, not the bottom.

And, no leaded fuel or additives with lead...and no silicone compounds upstream of the sensor.

Follow those rules and they last a long long time.

B

www.RaceSystems.com
Home of Project Ludicrous Speed
ByronRACE is offline  
post #7 of 18 (permalink) Old 04-15-2008, 10:36 PM
s_stang
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Mentioned: Post(s)
Tagged: Thread(s)
Quoted: Post(s)
What type of fuel are you using.. Deadnation will knock the molly out of the rings in a hurry..
post #8 of 18 (permalink) Old 04-15-2008, 10:52 PM Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 153
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
 
Its an ACCELL specific sensor for the wideband and data logger, only way you can use there self correction software when at track and doing data logs. Hold on to your shorts the sensors are over $600 his cost and is a accell dealer, and accell certified trained Ouch.

I don't think fuel is an issue yet, 8.5 compression, no boost,low timing for first start, we just used super 93 pump gas, never revved over 3000 or had any load on engine. we will switc to 116 before anystreet driving ,boost or yno is done.
cubicgator is offline  
post #9 of 18 (permalink) Old 04-16-2008, 10:39 AM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: San Jose, CA
Posts: 2,185
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
 
Okay...

I promise you that Accel is not in the business of manufacturing UEGO sensors. A $600 sensor is reason enough that I'd abandon that system if there was no other cure....that's robbery.

www.RaceSystems.com
Home of Project Ludicrous Speed
ByronRACE is offline  
post #10 of 18 (permalink) Old 04-16-2008, 11:03 AM Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 153
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
 
The widebands problem is in wiring not with the acual sensor on my car, we have explored into difrent sensors but haven't found one yet. They made a new harness yesturday. If we didn't like the system so much we would probable switch to a bigstuff, but jeff has many stored files for tuning everything n/a supercharged and turbo, street to race, and spent to much time at school , and a couple days with Job spetter learning the ins and outs of the system last year before we went to the street car supernationals.
cubicgator is offline  
post #11 of 18 (permalink) Old 04-16-2008, 12:13 PM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: San Jose, CA
Posts: 2,185
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
 
OK

Next time you're up there, snap some pictures of the wideband sensor that shows all the numbers on the side, as well as the connector end...and I'll help you find a replacement.

I have engineering data from every (I think) UEGO manufacturer on earth; it's probably a common part.

Dynojet wants big money for theirs too; but I found a replacement.

B

www.RaceSystems.com
Home of Project Ludicrous Speed
ByronRACE is offline  
post #12 of 18 (permalink) Old 04-16-2008, 01:06 PM Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 153
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
 
Very cool, the sensor is still in car at my house i will pull it out and take some pictures.
thanks wally
cubicgator is offline  
post #13 of 18 (permalink) Old 04-16-2008, 02:43 PM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Cheraw, SC
Posts: 724
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
 
While we are on the subject of O2 sensors. Byron, What about the ones with the calibration resistors in the connector ie. AEM?

Bill Bennett
Street Head Mafia Wanna Be
"Can't Never Could"
Monstermiler is offline  
post #14 of 18 (permalink) Old 04-16-2008, 02:46 PM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: San Jose, CA
Posts: 2,185
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
 
Yep...

Similar to what DynoJet uses I bet, if not identical. Putting a calibration resistor into the harness pigtail is not uncommon.

www.RaceSystems.com
Home of Project Ludicrous Speed
ByronRACE is offline  
post #15 of 18 (permalink) Old 04-16-2008, 04:55 PM Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 153
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
 
I talked with jeff and said he started to research this winter then got busy, there is a similar one, i beleive he said honda, but the Accell has a calibration resistor that he was a little confused on matching.
cubicgator is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the 460 Ford Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in










Thread Tools Search this Thread
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome