no BBF bash for me - 460 Ford Forum
Chilly's Garage A place for non-460 banter.

User Tag List

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
post #1 of 17 (permalink) Old 04-18-2008, 09:22 PM Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
Nitro Lew's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Bowling Green Kentucky
Posts: 807
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
 
no BBF bash for me

Well I got my new converter today and want to put the trans in and guess what this converter is the rong size again :evil: This time it's my falt I didn't know that C4's came with a 31 spline shaft ops: I told the guy at ATI I had a fully built PA C4 and we both thought it was a 26 spine shaft . I just think someone doesn't want me to race next weekend !!! I'm still going but no racing for me

2002 gt with a 545 ,
1985 notch 466 ,C4 6.24 1/8
1989 GT with 331 stroker

http://www.mustangmods.com/ims/u/4098/11699/234637.jpg
Nitro Lew is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 17 (permalink) Old 04-18-2008, 09:43 PM
Senior Member
 
richter69's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: sniffin' out the procomp threads
Posts: 6,392
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
 
Man sorry to hear that.

I'm having my own issues as well. :cry:

69 Grande'
P51 headed 563
3070#'s
5.15 @ 134.89
richter69 is offline  
post #3 of 17 (permalink) Old 04-18-2008, 10:15 PM
Senior Member
 
BBFmavrick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: jackson,ohio
Posts: 3,790
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
 
Sorry to hear the bad news Lew, I hav'nt had to much luck either but my problem isn't like yours. I had some issues w/my fiberglass doors cracking because my car flex's so bad at launch. So I fixed the doors and now I can't get the paint to match the rest of the car, it's close but not close enough. I will wait until I get home from the Bash and paint the whole car.Hope you can come to watch though,I'm looking forward to meeting ya'll. Rick

Rick Brown
(LIL TWEETY) BBF 62 Falcon Tube Chassis
Member of a BAND OF BROTHERS

Pro Motion Machining
Perfect Reflections Photography
Bronx Corner Automotive
BBFmavrick is offline  
 
post #4 of 17 (permalink) Old 04-18-2008, 11:12 PM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Australia
Posts: 2,282
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 45 Post(s)
 
Re: no BBF bash for me

Quote:
Originally Posted by Nitro Lew
Well I got my new converter today and want to put the trans in and guess what this converter is the rong size again :evil: This time it's my falt I didn't know that C4's came with a 31 spline shaft ops: I told the guy at ATI I had a fully built PA C4 and we both thought it was a 26 spine shaft . I just think someone doesn't want me to race next weekend !!! I'm still going but no racing for me
Well i'm curious now what you have. All c4 do have a 26 spline shaft.. What input shaft do you have. Sounds a little like a dynamic?? C6 input shaft conversion maybe ????
gregaust is offline  
post #5 of 17 (permalink) Old 04-18-2008, 11:29 PM
s_stang
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Mentioned: Post(s)
Tagged: Thread(s)
Quoted: Post(s)
Re: no BBF bash for me

Quote:
Originally Posted by gregaust
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nitro Lew
Well I got my new converter today and want to put the trans in and guess what this converter is the rong size again :evil: This time it's my falt I didn't know that C4's came with a 31 spline shaft ops: I told the guy at ATI I had a fully built PA C4 and we both thought it was a 26 spine shaft . I just think someone doesn't want me to race next weekend !!! I'm still going but no racing for me
Well i'm curious now what you have. All c4 do have a 26 spline shaft.. What input shaft do you have. Sounds a little like a dynamic?? C6 input shaft conversion maybe ????
Hey Greg! How's the land down under? What spline is a C-6 converter?? I use a C-6 converter in my C-4 tranny..

Spline adapter.. http://www.performanceautomatic.com/parts_c4.htm

See Ya!
post #6 of 17 (permalink) Old 04-18-2008, 11:35 PM
s_stang
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Mentioned: Post(s)
Tagged: Thread(s)
Quoted: Post(s)
I have a pan fill shaft.. If ya want to use it.. Their pretty stout.. in stock form..

See ya!
post #7 of 17 (permalink) Old 04-18-2008, 11:41 PM Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
Nitro Lew's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Bowling Green Kentucky
Posts: 807
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
 
Re: no BBF bash for me

Quote:
Originally Posted by gregaust
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nitro Lew
Well I got my new converter today and want to put the trans in and guess what this converter is the rong size again :evil: This time it's my falt I didn't know that C4's came with a 31 spline shaft ops: I told the guy at ATI I had a fully built PA C4 and we both thought it was a 26 spine shaft . I just think someone doesn't want me to race next weekend !!! I'm still going but no racing for me
Well i'm curious now what you have. All c4 do have a 26 spline shaft.. What input shaft do you have. Sounds a little like a dynamic?? C6 input shaft conversion maybe ????
The shaft is a 31 spline and my C6 converter goes right on but the small part of the shaft is differant then the C6 converter .

2002 gt with a 545 ,
1985 notch 466 ,C4 6.24 1/8
1989 GT with 331 stroker

http://www.mustangmods.com/ims/u/4098/11699/234637.jpg
Nitro Lew is offline  
post #8 of 17 (permalink) Old 04-19-2008, 01:42 AM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Australia
Posts: 2,282
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 45 Post(s)
 
Hey all good down here ... Thats weird. I wonder what the spline is for.The large spline on the stator support is same for C4 + C6 ..
gregaust is offline  
post #9 of 17 (permalink) Old 04-19-2008, 07:41 AM
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 862
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
 
Hey Lew,

We have a 4200 stall converter from PTC that came out of our PA C-4 Super comp. Dad can bring it with him from FL. to the bash if you need one that bad!!!!! He'll probably make you a really good deal on it if you want. It was behind our 525 but no where near big enough for our 572 :lol: He is coming up Tuesday night so let me know!!



Keith
stangr8cr is offline  
post #10 of 17 (permalink) Old 04-19-2008, 07:43 AM
Forum Contributor
 
IDT-572's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Shelbyville Tn.
Posts: 1,733
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8 Post(s)
 
Kieth.

Got my engine in about 2:30 this morning finishing up today, May go to huntsville this weekend.


Blake

Blake

580 inch Ported P-51's
1003 hp @7200 810 tq @ 6100
86 Notch
29.5x13.5 Ladder Bar
1.200 60ft 5.41 @ 127.78 mph 8.51 @ 156 mph
200 shot 5.23 135 mph 1.13 60 ft. on the rear tire.
IDT-572 is offline  
post #11 of 17 (permalink) Old 04-19-2008, 07:45 AM
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 862
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
 
Sweet!!!! Get that thing to the track so we can kick Damon's ***!!!! We may have him taking that glide out and figuring something else out!! He is in BIG trouble x2!! :lol:


Keith
stangr8cr is offline  
post #12 of 17 (permalink) Old 04-19-2008, 07:49 AM
Forum Contributor
 
IDT-572's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Shelbyville Tn.
Posts: 1,733
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8 Post(s)
 
Got my big tube headers on also with a small amount of tweeking. But the collector are hanging lower than I like , but it will be fine..............

Blake

Blake

580 inch Ported P-51's
1003 hp @7200 810 tq @ 6100
86 Notch
29.5x13.5 Ladder Bar
1.200 60ft 5.41 @ 127.78 mph 8.51 @ 156 mph
200 shot 5.23 135 mph 1.13 60 ft. on the rear tire.
IDT-572 is offline  
post #13 of 17 (permalink) Old 04-19-2008, 09:49 AM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: KY
Posts: 518
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
 
$

Lew are you near Evansville, IN? Contact Champ Converters, they may be able to change the splines for you in short notice. When I get to the shop, I will add contact information to this post.

Has the input shaft been changed. I'm not sure about the splines just yet, I thought the C4 shafts were 24 and 26 splines.

I will get back with more information in a bit.

Dave.

I'm back!
The C6 uses a 31 spline shaft. Can you replace the big shaft with the small shaft? What is the spline at the pump end?

Call Champ Converters in Evansville,IN. Talk with Kurt. 812-424-2602

Kurt (Champ Converters) built the converter I use in my '68 Mustang with FE/C4 combination. Kurt went out of his way to correct a converter/transmission depth issue, and corrected it while I waited! Like previously mentioned, I too built a C6 converter for the FE to help with re-sale. I use a spline adapter from Jim Paquet (JPT, Eaton rapids, MI) to use the C4 shaft with the C6 converter spline. It all works great.....so far!

Good luck, and don't give up yet, you have a week!

Dave.

Masters Degree in Perverted Idiocy.
LivermoreDave is offline  
post #14 of 17 (permalink) Old 04-19-2008, 11:19 AM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Lawrenceburg,In.
Posts: 871
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
 
The c-4's are 24 & 26 spline, someone screwed up somewhere, I'm not trying to be a ***, but you are putting the shaft in right, aren't you? I have a 4800 stall, 1.375 pilot 11 7/16 bolt pattern you can use it or I will sell it to you cheap, anything to help.

let it happen.
Harold is offline  
post #15 of 17 (permalink) Old 04-19-2008, 01:51 PM
Senior Member
 
Phantasea466's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Lawrenceburg, KY
Posts: 6,697
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
 
Lew,

If you want to use my converter your are more than welcome to come get it and see if it works. It was originally build for a C6 but I had it in front of my C4 with the adapter that Dave is talking about.

Give me a call and let me know, I'll meet you at my shop.

Keith........ I got something special for you :mrgreen:



Never pay again for live sex! | Hot girls doing naughty stuff for free! | Chat for free!

Damon Sea
1983 Mustang
534ci

"If it doesn't fit, Force it. If it breaks then it needed to be replaced anyway"
http://photobucket.com/albums/f75/Phantasea466
Phantasea466 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the 460 Ford Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in










Thread Tools Search this Thread
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome