Vista Premium 32 bit vs 64 bit - 460 Ford Forum
Chilly's Garage A place for non-460 banter.

User Tag List

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
post #1 of 17 (permalink) Old 02-26-2009, 08:09 PM Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
fordsbyjay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Lafayette, LA
Posts: 1,309
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
 
Send a message via MSN to fordsbyjay
Vista Premium 32 bit vs 64 bit

I am looking at a new laptop and was wondering how much difference there is between Vista Premium 32 bit vs 64 bit. The 64 bit requires 4 Gb of ram so it should be faster but you know how that goes. All I have ever used is XP Pro so I am in the dark with the new stuff.



Life's journey is not to arrive at the grave safely in a well preserved body, but rather to skid-in-sideways, totally worn out, shouting.."holy crap.... what a ride!"
fordsbyjay is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 17 (permalink) Old 02-26-2009, 08:14 PM
Member
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: SoCal
Posts: 240
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
 
I can't remember all the benefits. I do know the 64 bit can handle more memory(ram) if you ever upgrade. Vista is a memory whore regardless.

I heard a rumor that the new windows is due out fall/winter this year.
Declawed69 is offline  
post #3 of 17 (permalink) Old 02-26-2009, 08:15 PM
Premium Member
 
Paul Kane's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Bay Area, CA
Posts: 5,545
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 2 Thread(s)
Quoted: 45 Post(s)
           
Cool

Quote:
Originally Posted by fordsbyjay View Post
I am looking at a new laptop and was wondering how much difference there is between Vista Premium 32 bit vs 64 bit. The 64 bit requires 4 Gb of ram so it should be faster but you know how that goes. All I have ever used is XP Pro so I am in the dark with the new stuff.


I'm on Vista right now. Can't stand it. I call it Windows Fista.

I could be mistaken, but I do believe XP will be supported through 2015, and if so then I'd say that at least for the immediate future that's the ticket over Fista.

Paul

We're On The Web; Click Below:
High Flow Dynamics
Performance Components for the 429/460 Engine Family
Paul Kane is offline  
 
post #4 of 17 (permalink) Old 02-26-2009, 08:15 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: greenville,sc
Posts: 110
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
 
Send a message via Yahoo to bbfstang
vista

i hated vista removed it and went back to xp

go to piratebay.org and do vista search u can get it for free
bbfstang is offline  
post #5 of 17 (permalink) Old 02-26-2009, 08:17 PM Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
fordsbyjay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Lafayette, LA
Posts: 1,309
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
 
Send a message via MSN to fordsbyjay
Quote:
Originally Posted by Paul Kane View Post
I'm on Vista right now. Can't stand it. I call it Windows Fista.

I could be mistaken, but I do believe XP will be supported through 2015, and if so then I'd say that at least for the immediate future that's the ticket over Fista.

Paul
Well if I could get XP I would but I hate to pay for vista then have to buy XP on top of that. I have to watch the $$$$$. Is there still allot of driver issues with vista?

Life's journey is not to arrive at the grave safely in a well preserved body, but rather to skid-in-sideways, totally worn out, shouting.."holy crap.... what a ride!"
fordsbyjay is offline  
post #6 of 17 (permalink) Old 02-26-2009, 08:21 PM
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: pisgah AL
Posts: 49
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
 
i got a new lap top and its got 64 bit vista and i love it. will not ever go back. BUT my new sct 3 will not work with the 64 bit! and my old lc-1 works great on it! go figure.
joecoupe is offline  
post #7 of 17 (permalink) Old 02-26-2009, 08:23 PM
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: pisgah AL
Posts: 49
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
 
Quote:
Originally Posted by fordsbyjay View Post
Well if I could get XP I would but I hate to pay for vista then have to buy XP on top of that. I have to watch the $$$$$. Is there still allot of driver issues with vista?
the drivers is what is holding me back from working on the 64 bit. the sct-3 software works fine but can not connect to the lap top.
joecoupe is offline  
post #8 of 17 (permalink) Old 02-26-2009, 08:39 PM
Senior Member
 
Chuck Stevens's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: ELIMINATOR dealer Somis, CA
Posts: 2,227
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
 
Order the new one with XP instead of vista.

Some people can break a cannon ball, in a sand box, with their bare hands.
Chuck Stevens is offline  
post #9 of 17 (permalink) Old 02-26-2009, 08:47 PM
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 30
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
 
I couldn't stand all the driver issues with Vista 64, so I downgraded to 32. Now I have one hard drive with Vista 32 and another with XP. I boot with whichever one I need at the moment.

The newest Directx10 games? Boot with Vista.
Legacy games and my ancient ATI tv tuner? Boot with XP.
Putnam419 is offline  
post #10 of 17 (permalink) Old 02-27-2009, 12:45 AM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Patricia, Alberta, Canada
Posts: 476
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
 
My computer crashed a few weeks ago, and I bought a new one. My kid has Vista on his laptop and he hates it and told me not to get it, but I did, and I love it. So far. The guy that sold it to me wanted me to leave it there for 3 hours and he said they would clean out all the unneeded stuff like touchscreen etc, and it would reduce the memory requirments from 1.3 down to .6. I was from out of town and didn't have time, but I might take it back in the future. I'm far from a computer guru, but I like Vista so far. I've had '95, '98, 2000, and XP and this one is my favorite.

668. The neighbour of the beast.
John I. is offline  
post #11 of 17 (permalink) Old 02-27-2009, 07:49 AM
Senior Member
 
gtmustang's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Rogers City, Michigan
Posts: 631
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
 
I haven't had any problems with VISTA, I don't see any advantage to putting XP back on a computer. VISTA has some somewhat annoying quirks when you first start out with it, but after awhile you get used to it! Get a computer with VISTA, and go for it.
Gary

1992 Mustang GT 502 cu/in-631 hp Street Car
A-429 heads, KOOKS headers, Rollerized C-6
gtmustang is offline  
post #12 of 17 (permalink) Old 02-27-2009, 09:13 AM
Senior Member
 
InfoFord's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Kalispell MT
Posts: 562
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
 
I ran everything from windows 95 all the way up to xp and vista even running windows 7 beta and it needs work still

like any new OS vista has a few quirks but I would still recommend it as it been very stable for me

if you been using XP it will have a bit of a learning curve to figure out where everything is
InfoFord is offline  
post #13 of 17 (permalink) Old 02-27-2009, 09:41 AM
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: memphis, tn
Posts: 41
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
 
buy a Mac and be done with it. I am a convert...the worst kind I know. I will never spend my own money on PC again. I have to use one at work. I have 2 iMacs...one new...and a 2001 first edition iMac that still runs great. They are not perfect and it might take a little getting used to, but unless you use some really specialized software - you can get things done. Particularly if its just a web, email, photo, Word machine. The new ones can even run Windows if you have some old programs you don't want to part with. They are cheaper in the long run IMHO.
job1bf is offline  
post #14 of 17 (permalink) Old 02-27-2009, 10:52 AM
Senior Member
 
InfoFord's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Kalispell MT
Posts: 562
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
 


Buy a Mac
InfoFord is offline  
post #15 of 17 (permalink) Old 02-27-2009, 12:37 PM
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: memphis, tn
Posts: 41
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
 
to each - his own...
job1bf is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the 460 Ford Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in










Thread Tools Search this Thread
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome