cam help - 460 Ford Forum
Chilly's Garage A place for non-460 banter.

User Tag List

LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
post #1 of 4 (permalink) Old 03-01-2009, 08:42 AM Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)

cam help

ok this is not on my 460. its a 292 yblock. its 60 over and 9 to 1 comp manual trans. im looking for something fairly mild. im new at cam stuff. was curious how lobe center affects low end power. lookin at a isky cam 270 duration .448 lift 112 lobe center 228 at 050. is lobe center and lobe seperation the same? I see grinds similar to this and they vary from 106 to 112. some show lobe seperation at one degree then different centerlines for intake and exaust. trying to learn how to make better cam choices. thanks.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 4 (permalink) Old 03-01-2009, 11:25 AM

Quoted: 1 Post(s)

I'll give this a shot. No expert on cams, but I do know something about Y blocks. A couple of things for you...

Did you rebuild the engine, or do you know who did? The reason why I ask is that nearly all Y block pistons have a very low compression height, and a low deck height in terms of where the piston top ends up in the bore....and they nearly all are wildly optimistic in terms of rated compression. It normally takes a healthy cut off the block deck, and the heads, for that matter, in order to actually reach whatever rated compression the piston maker lists.

What I'm getting at is that, if you haven't actually done the math, so to speak, you likely have much less compression than 9:1, even with the .060 overbore,... which will make a difference as to cam selection.