Machine Shop Questions - 460 Ford Forum
Chilly's Garage A place for non-460 banter.

User Tag List

LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
post #1 of 3 (permalink) Old 09-15-2010, 12:11 PM Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)

Garage
Machine Shop Questions

Is this a good business to get in to? I am an automotive Engineering Manager
with a lot of experience on the industrial side of machine tolerences and equipment.

It seems that anytime I call the shop and I use several..... they are always overloaded with work. Even with the down-turn of the economy.

Almost all engineers in the automotive world (at least the ones that I know) are always looking into some kind of business to start or to get into so that they can get out of the automotive day to day "working for the man".

I have been thinking lately about my passion which is "Engines" and "Engine Building". I have even looked into pricing new and used equipment to get started on the side.

I guess I am looking for suggestions on how to start and any info on purchasing equipment etc......what I should start with etc..

I would assume advertising web-sites etc would be use-ful.

I would start by buying the equipment needed to freshen engines and then move into purchasing more equipment as the business grows so that nothing has to go outside.

Looking to start in a year or so. I appreciate all helpful comments

Adrian Way 606-260-0103

572CI 1978 Mustang Cobra II-Ron's Terminator-Alky Injection
532CI 1972 Maverick-Ron's Terminator-Alky Injection
2000 Excursion 7.3 Powerstroke "TS-6 position chip"
2001 F250 7.3 Powerstroke "TS-6 position chip"
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 3 (permalink) Old 09-15-2010, 03:28 PM

Quoted: 29 Post(s)