TRAN'S BRAKE - 460 Ford Forum
Chilly's Garage A place for non-460 banter.

User Tag List

 
LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
post #1 of 6 (permalink) Old 01-22-2006, 02:18 AM Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: MO
Posts: 258
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
 
TRAN'S BRAKE

WILL SOMEONE LINE ME OUT, The do's and don'ts on tran's-break, i've never used one. about the only thing i know for sure is (don't push button wile in motion) :roll: thanks Ed.

''If you didn't Build-It'' It ain't Racing!
Ed Kinnard is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 6 (permalink) Old 01-22-2006, 08:04 AM
Senior Member
 
Ourmerc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Cicero,New York
Posts: 328
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
 
Send a message via AIM to Ourmerc Send a message via Yahoo to Ourmerc
Most brakes

The brake that we used,in order to go on reverse you need to hold the button.Other wise the only time that button is pushed is to lock up your tranny.When ever you leave,let your finger off the button and hold on.
Good Luck Bob
Ourmerc is offline  
post #3 of 6 (permalink) Old 01-22-2006, 10:11 AM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Southern Ohio
Posts: 1,650
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
 
I never used one either. It seems alot of people are going away from delay boxes here, so maybe you should just use a switch.

As far as safety goes you can probably buy a relay switch that won't re-activate for so many seconds. If not I could probably design one for you, it would be fairly easy.

The only other thing I have ever heard is stay about 500 rpms below the stall speed or the trans will get hot. I can't say for certain if that is accurate.
jpierce55 is offline  
 
post #4 of 6 (permalink) Old 01-22-2006, 10:31 AM
Senior Member
 
Duane's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Arlington, TX
Posts: 479
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
 
Pretty simple, but use a two-step to limit starting line RPM, like aready stated, under your total stall. Best procedure would be to light the last last yellow, then push the button. I always wait until the tree starts coming down before I hit the gas to the floor. Some like to light the yellows, and before the tree is activated, they floor it, but that makes you on the conv. a little long, building trans heat. Any other questions, just ask.
Duane is offline  
post #5 of 6 (permalink) Old 01-22-2006, 12:03 PM Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: MO
Posts: 258
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
 
TRAN'S BRAKE

What about having to brake torque to about 2000 on the line before depressing button???? something about building pump pressure for full solenoid engagement???? btw this is going to be all T-C-I components. So if I understand write, you need to push button than put in reverse to back???? :roll:

''If you didn't Build-It'' It ain't Racing!
Ed Kinnard is offline  
post #6 of 6 (permalink) Old 01-22-2006, 12:23 PM
TopSportsman916
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Mentioned: Post(s)
Tagged: Thread(s)
Quoted: Post(s)
Transbrakes

Ed, mabe I can answer some of your questions
1.) What if I hit the button while in motion?-The transbrake works only in first gear.Also most brakes have a safety feature to help prevent you from putting the car in reverse down track. To apply reverse, you must have the trans in reverse & apply the transbrake button.

2.)What about having rpms to 2000?- You do need to have the engine above idle. Reason being is you need some line pressure to help lock the transbrake. You are locking the transmission between first & reverse. I am assuming that we are talking Powerglides here. I usually like to have at least 1500 rpms before applying the trans brake. I have had instances where I was below 1500 rpm & the brake didn't hold.

3.) Two steps & when to mat the gas?- I take it you are going to run a delay box & two step. Wire the trans brake through your delay box & low side of the two step. This allows you to put the gas pedal to the floor & set the RPM limit. When I run a .5 full tree, I put a 4000rpm chip in to leave the line. When I race a .4 Pro tree, I remove the low side chip & leave off of the convertor stall speed. I also don't mat the gas until my top bulb comes on when on the full tree. It keeps from building up heat in the convertor & transmission.On a Pro tree you mat the gas once both cars have lit the stage bulbs. The delay box allows you to leave off the top bulb on a full tree. You will be more consistant than trying to wait & leave off of the bottom bulb.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the 460 Ford Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in










Thread Tools Search this Thread
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
C6 TCI trans brake, TCI pan, and ATI 5 clutch drum VR3 The Auction Block 24 09-04-2008 05:14 PM
C4 / C6 trans brake Question powerstrokeace General Tech 6 08-21-2008 05:21 AM
Broader Performance Trans Brake bbstang502 General Tech 6 04-05-2008 05:40 PM
GODLEY PERFORMANCE C-6 TRANS.w/ TRANS BRAKE!!! ssroadrunner The Auction Block 1 11-11-2007 07:23 PM
rpm for a trans brake 385s fox body Engine Tech 7 04-13-2007 04:38 PM

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome