What gauges are you using? - 460 Ford Forum
Chilly's Garage A place for non-460 banter.

User Tag List

 
LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
post #1 of 14 (permalink) Old 02-22-2006, 08:54 PM Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 12
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
 
What gauges are you using?

Im Building a 64 Fairlane carburated 557 for drag racing only and was wondering what gauges others have in their cars. I am going to install a tach, water temp, oil preasure, volt, fuel preasure. Looking at other cars I have seen almost every gauge made installed. Do I need any more than what Im installing? I would rather do this once and make it look nice and not look hacked thogether. Heres a couple pictures for those who care.


Thanks, Mike
9secfairlane is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 14 (permalink) Old 02-22-2006, 09:11 PM
RJP
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 1,067
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
 
Auto-Meter

I use Auto-Meter in all my cars and boats. I'm in the process of switching over from Stewart-Warner which IMO are nothing but junk. I just attempted to remove the water bulb on a fairly new S/W water temp guage and broke the little tube going to the guage...instant junk. A couple of years ago I bought a mech. 3500 rpm S/W tach for my Kenworth, it read 1000 rpms high at idle and was about 600 rpms slow at 2100 rpm. It was not cheap either, paid $165.00 for that POS. No mo S/W for me.
RJP is offline  
post #3 of 14 (permalink) Old 02-23-2006, 06:53 AM
Senior Member
 
Phantasea466's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Lawrenceburg, KY
Posts: 6,697
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
 
I have Autometer Phantom gauges in mine. Oil, water and Fuel (on the cowl)

If/When my Autometer "black" Monster tach takes a dump then I'll get a matching Phantom Tach as well. You can kind of see my gauges in one of my videos, follow the link in my sig.



Never pay again for live sex! | Hot girls doing naughty stuff for free! | Chat for free!

Damon Sea
1983 Mustang
534ci

"If it doesn't fit, Force it. If it breaks then it needed to be replaced anyway"
http://photobucket.com/albums/f75/Phantasea466
Phantasea466 is offline  
 
post #4 of 14 (permalink) Old 02-23-2006, 07:53 AM
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 508
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
 
I have a set of Auto-Meter silver Pro-Comps for my car, I have the black ones in my J-10 parts hauler which are also very nice, I favor the silver faced ones, but this is subjective. Both sets are 2 5/8" diameter.
Scott V is offline  
post #5 of 14 (permalink) Old 02-24-2006, 11:19 AM
Senior Member
 
prosandguy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Holland, MI
Posts: 397
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
 
I also prefer the Auto Meters, I have the silver procomp ones in my bronco. I don't know if you are running an auto trans, but I would highly reccomend a trans temp gauge to your set up. Awesome car, looks cool as heck

Big Broncos for life!
prosandguy is offline  
post #6 of 14 (permalink) Old 02-24-2006, 12:33 PM
Senior Member
 
PatFromJersey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Lakewood, NJ
Posts: 1,117
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
 
Send a message via AIM to PatFromJersey Send a message via Yahoo to PatFromJersey
I use AutoMeter Sport Comps.




New project coming... 1932 Ford 5 Window Coupe 521/C6
PatFromJersey is offline  
post #7 of 14 (permalink) Old 02-24-2006, 07:07 PM
TopSportsman916
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Mentioned: Post(s)
Tagged: Thread(s)
Quoted: Post(s)
Gauges

First, your car is going to look cool as hell when you finish it. In my last car I ran Autometer Pro comp gauges & the Pro Comp 5" play back tach. I highly recommend the play back tach. It is a "cheap data logger". On my current car I use Racepak V-net gauges since I am using their V-300 data logger. The data logger was the best money spent on the car. I very highly recommend one. I am using V-net tach,oil press.,water temp.,trans temp.,brake press.,volt meter, & fuel press.

[img]URL=http://imageshack.us][/URL][/img]
post #8 of 14 (permalink) Old 02-24-2006, 09:53 PM Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 12
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
 
Thanks for all the info and pictures and thanks for the kind words about the car.

TS916 why do you use a brake pressure guage? I have seen them but always wondered why people use them.

Any one know why my pictures are so big? Is there a way to fix that for next time?
9secfairlane is offline  
post #9 of 14 (permalink) Old 02-24-2006, 10:48 PM
TopSportsman916
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Mentioned: Post(s)
Tagged: Thread(s)
Quoted: Post(s)
Brake Pressure Gauge

I use it for my burn out. I know what pressure it takes to hold the car. Better than guessing then the brakes don't hold & you get a crappy burn out. It's all about consistency.
post #10 of 14 (permalink) Old 02-25-2006, 08:04 PM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: San Francisco
Posts: 357
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
 
Garage
I too use Automoeter and am having to try liquid filled guages in efforts to enhance longevity/reliabilithy, but it is an endurance application.
Matt Robison is offline  
post #11 of 14 (permalink) Old 02-27-2006, 05:10 PM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Assonet, MA
Posts: 1,667
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
 
Send a message via AIM to psquare75
psquare75 is offline  
post #12 of 14 (permalink) Old 03-07-2006, 06:34 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Almont, Mi
Posts: 127
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
 
mine

pro68 is offline  
post #13 of 14 (permalink) Old 03-07-2006, 05:40 PM
Senior Member
 
fordsbyjay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Lafayette, LA
Posts: 1,309
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
 
Send a message via MSN to fordsbyjay
I have sport comps in my Pinto and Lunars in my 56. Eventually the Falcon will have Autometers as well but not sure which ones.
fordsbyjay is offline  
post #14 of 14 (permalink) Old 03-07-2006, 05:41 PM
Senior Member
 
fordsbyjay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Lafayette, LA
Posts: 1,309
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
 
Send a message via MSN to fordsbyjay
By the way, Patfromjersey, that has to be the cleanest interior I have ever seen. Nice job!
fordsbyjay is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the 460 Ford Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in










Thread Tools Search this Thread
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Iginition and gauges for sale nitro521 The Auction Block 6 02-04-2009 09:36 PM
Liquid filled fuel pressure gauges 509stroker4x4 Chilly's Garage 3 09-28-2007 12:36 PM
MSD 7AL-2 /// Autogauge gauges and chrome cups - SOLD SOLD TravisRice The Auction Block 9 04-08-2007 06:20 AM
electronic gauges suck Fordguy545 Chilly's Garage 11 02-03-2007 04:43 PM
Help me pick the right gauges for engine performance stevefretz Engine Tech 6 12-04-2006 04:50 PM

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome