Wanted: 427 Ford Crank - 460 Ford Forum
The Auction Block Buy, Sell, Trade your parts and pieces!!

User Tag List

 
LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
post #1 of 12 (permalink) Old 05-07-2009, 11:41 AM Thread Starter
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: nebraska
Posts: 52
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
 
Wanted: 427 Ford Crank

Im looking for a 427 G-code crank out of a 63.
Crank number C38E-G Thanks
Dan
47ford is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 12 (permalink) Old 05-07-2009, 04:30 PM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: California
Posts: 525
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
 
Crank

Is there a specific reason you want that crank? I think I have that crank. It has a grove in the mains for oil?. I have the whole motor, 63 8V galaxy motor.

"The more hair I lose, the more head I get"
747JETMECH is offline  
post #3 of 12 (permalink) Old 05-07-2009, 08:58 PM Thread Starter
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: nebraska
Posts: 52
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
 
The guy is wanting to put together a 63 1/2 Galaxie and he wants to match as many of the right numbers as possible. Thanks
Dan
47ford is offline  
 
post #4 of 12 (permalink) Old 05-08-2009, 02:27 PM
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Clovis, CA
Posts: 27
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
 
Quote:
Originally Posted by 747JETMECH View Post
I have the whole motor, 63 8V galaxy motor.
Do you want to sell this motor?

Thanks
Tim
trossol is offline  
post #5 of 12 (permalink) Old 05-08-2009, 02:35 PM
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Clovis, CA
Posts: 27
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
 
Quote:
Originally Posted by 47ford View Post
Im looking for a 427 G-code crank out of a 63.
Crank number C38E-G Thanks
Dan
In 1963, the G-code engine was a 406 (6V). The 427 was either a Q-code (4V) or R-code (8V). They may have actually used the same crank, since they had the same stroke. I know the 427 cranks had grooved mains, but I don't know about the 406. I have seen one 427 crank that was C3AE-E, but that isn't to say they didn't also have one that was C3AE-G (not C38E-G).

Tim
trossol is offline  
post #6 of 12 (permalink) Old 05-08-2009, 02:59 PM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Maryland
Posts: 2,451
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
 
Thier was one on Fleabay
dfree383 is offline  
post #7 of 12 (permalink) Old 05-08-2009, 04:48 PM Thread Starter
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: nebraska
Posts: 52
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
 
Im being honest here guys !!! I dont know crap about these numbers.. lol....
Anyway, Im the middle man here.. So this is what I was told just now..
The R code is the car number.. It means H.P. 427.. I was wrong on the crank number..
It is C-3AE-G.. My Bad.. Not the4 first time.. ha ha..
47ford is offline  
post #8 of 12 (permalink) Old 05-09-2009, 07:01 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Bellaire Mi.
Posts: 180
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
 
the guy that knows 427 s is john at total performance in clinton twp mich. he has a good supply of fe parts knows all the #s contacthim @ [email protected] its the best way to get to him Ricky D.
rickyd is offline  
post #9 of 12 (permalink) Old 05-09-2009, 03:15 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: altavista va.
Posts: 76
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
 
Smile 406 crank

my406 did not have a groove
1lowet is offline  
post #10 of 12 (permalink) Old 05-09-2009, 07:37 PM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: The Texas Panhandle
Posts: 4,325
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
 
those # are for a 63 cast iron grooved mains crank...if you are interested in a steel 427 ceank let me know






Randy
cougar1969 is offline  
post #11 of 12 (permalink) Old 05-09-2009, 09:16 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: markleville indiana
Posts: 126
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
 
I have one that was never ran but has light surface rust.will need turned but .010 will take care of it.
$400.00
95MUSTANG is offline  
post #12 of 12 (permalink) Old 05-10-2009, 02:03 PM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: California
Posts: 525
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
 
Motor

I have been thinking of letting this motor go. I just bought a big spline toploader for it. The motor is a complete 427 8V out of a 63 galaxy. I had everything including the cast iron headers. I sold the headers and dual point distributer but have the rest including fuel log and fuel pump. From aircleaner to oil pan. Extra crank and extra set of reconditioned rods. It came with a chrome dampener, chrome fuel log. Aircleaner has the bird in it. Carbs even have the tags on them yet.
All machine is done. Al Lease in San Mateo did the machine work and its ready for assy. Heads are done with new valves, etc..

Tom

"The more hair I lose, the more head I get"
747JETMECH is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the 460 Ford Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in










Thread Tools Search this Thread
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome