73 f250 camper special - 460 Ford Forum
Car Buildup Forum A place to detail your car build and chronicle your progress as you put together your BBF powered vehicle.

User Tag List

1Likes
  • 1 Post By kubotaorange76

LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
post #1 of 6 (permalink) Old 06-05-2019, 02:15 PM Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)

73 f250 camper special

I recent got a 73 f250 with a 360 fe and a 3 speed. The day after the engine started knocking... so i decided to try and find a 460 with a aod trans but whats the best year/ model to find something like that without efi? Also if anyone knows the process to convert 2wd to 4wd i would really like some info because this is my first build. Thanks!
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 6 (permalink) Old 06-06-2019, 07:02 PM

Quote:
Originally Posted by King987654 View Post
I recent got a 73 f250 with a 360 fe and a 3 speed. The day after the engine started knocking... so i decided to try and find a 460 with a aod trans but whats the best year/ model to find something like that without efi? Also if anyone knows the process to convert 2wd to 4wd i would really like some info because this is my first build. Thanks!
I'm not 100% on this but I don't believe a 460 ever came with an AOD.
Someone could correct me but everything I ever read is you don't do it either unless you get it built for that engine.
Most just go with another option.
Also 2wd to 4wd isn't an easy task either from what I have read. Most will tell you to find a 4wd frame and work from that.
I suppose it could be done with a lot of fabbing. Not something for a first timer but if you have the skills than anything is possible.

79 f150 460/np435 4x4
86 f250 460/c6 4x4
post #3 of 6 (permalink) Old 06-07-2019, 10:33 AM

Quoted: 11 Post(s)

Quote:
Originally Posted by inthepines View Post
I'm not 100% on this but I don't believe a 460 ever came with an AOD.