C6 b&m shift improver, no 1-2 shift on wot - 460 Ford Forum
Driveline Discuss Driveline & Related Components.

User Tag List

 
LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
post #1 of 8 (permalink) Old 03-01-2017, 09:44 AM Thread Starter
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 22
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
 
C6 b&m shift improver, no 1-2 shift on wot

I've had the truck apart for 6 or 7 years and finally got the 460 back together for it. Installed a single plane with a holley 750 vacuum secondaries. Of course the kickdown rod wouldn't fit, so I went without for a bit. I adjusted the modulator in a bit because when driving it would shift at 3800rpm or so.

Fast forward to this weekend and I installed the kickdown cable. Under half throttle it'll shift fine 1-2 very firm. Under wot I've had the truck spinning probably 5000rpm or so (hard to tell digital tach is slower at keeping up I guess) as soon as I lift a bit it'll shift into 2nd.

I then turned the modulator back out a half turn and it seems it made no difference under wot. I also loosened the kickdown cable thinking it may have been adjusted wrong.

Before I took the truck apart many years ago it was fine.

I've been searching the last 2 days and came across more than a couple with similar issues but didn't see any resolutions.
slpr74f250 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 8 (permalink) Old 03-01-2017, 07:30 PM
Senior Member
 
aquartlow's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 452
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 25 Post(s)
 
Maybe try backing out the kick-down screw that is on the Holley kick-down linkage. Basically requires the throttle to be opened further to actuate the trans kick-down rod/cable.

www.supermotors.net/22468

Yeah, it's a hybrid...It burns gas and tires.

No matter how good she looks somebody, somewhere is tired of her sh#t.
aquartlow is online now  
post #3 of 8 (permalink) Old 03-11-2017, 11:52 PM Thread Starter
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 22
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
 
I installed the lokar style kickdown cable. I'll loosen it some more and see if it'll help. Thank you
slpr74f250 is offline  
 
post #4 of 8 (permalink) Old 03-12-2017, 01:01 AM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Australia
Posts: 2,268
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 43 Post(s)
 
Or even disconnect kickdown and see what or if it has any affect
gregaust is offline  
post #5 of 8 (permalink) Old 03-12-2017, 02:46 PM
Senior Member
 
TARA-fied's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Russellville KY
Posts: 372
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 71 Post(s)
 
so you are having upshift issues from 1st to 2nd? I thought the kick down only triggered a down shift, usually from 3rd to 2nd.
Can you manually upshift from 1st to 2nd under WOT? That should over ride the vacuum modulator.

Married to TARA so that makes me "TARA-fied"!
_________________________________________
1967 Mustang with a 1970 429, TKO 600 & 9"
TARA-fied is offline  
post #6 of 8 (permalink) Old 03-13-2017, 12:47 AM Thread Starter
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 22
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
 
Yeah it'll upshift manually fine. I haven't had a chance to mess with it anymore as I've had a lot of hours at work this week. Tuesday I should have some time to check it out.
slpr74f250 is offline  
post #7 of 8 (permalink) Old 06-14-2017, 12:26 AM Thread Starter
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 22
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
 
Not sure what changed. Drove the truck more than just around the block and now the upshot is working. Though I would like it to shift a bit sooner but seems to be ok now. Not sure what was up.
slpr74f250 is offline  
post #8 of 8 (permalink) Old 06-14-2017, 03:12 AM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Australia
Posts: 2,268
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 43 Post(s)
 
Could be the motor settled a bit ? Giving a different vacuum signal. You do have a good full manifold vacuum source ? Where is the modulator set at ? You could check how much preload the modulator has , then possibly use a shorter pin. If it is a push in modulator that is easy to do, loosen the bracket and feel how much the modulator pops out .

Good to see it is working. That's funny usually everyone wants later shifts , this one is the opposite.
gregaust is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the 460 Ford Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in










Thread Tools Search this Thread
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome