C-6 Broken intermediate band - 460 Ford Forum
Driveline Discuss Driveline & Related Components.

User Tag List

 1Likes
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
post #1 of 17 (permalink) Old 03-28-2019, 05:03 PM Thread Starter
Member
 
598BroncoBeast's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Phoenix
Posts: 189
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 17 Post(s)
 
C-6 Broken intermediate band

Moving on from starters to transmissions I now see I have a broken band. I have a Hughes valve body full manual reverse pattern with transbrake. I'm taking the valve body down for a bench test. I think the servo piston stuck. I may just replace the piston. So an R servo does that refer to the piston ? I will look to see if I have the E lever. Hughes says Kevlar band I have heard other people say no Kevlar. What's the opinion ?

Thanks, Pat
.
598BroncoBeast is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 17 (permalink) Old 03-28-2019, 09:13 PM Thread Starter
Member
 
598BroncoBeast's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Phoenix
Posts: 189
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 17 Post(s)
 
Well now I'm not sure about the band. I push on it and it gets tight with 1/4 inch space the piston is stuck I can't get it to move. Can Anyone tell me if should be able to just pull it out ? Thanks Pat
598BroncoBeast is offline  
post #3 of 17 (permalink) Old 03-28-2019, 09:49 PM
Senior Member
 
stuarta's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Moose Jaw Saskatchewan Canada
Posts: 383
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
 
Unless the band is broken it can not be removed. You can break one end off and pull it out. You will need a snap band for replacement.

Wrench twister since 1957.
Journeyman in 1964.
Transmission builder since 1964.
stuarta is offline  
 
post #4 of 17 (permalink) Old 03-28-2019, 10:55 PM Thread Starter
Member
 
598BroncoBeast's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Phoenix
Posts: 189
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 17 Post(s)
 
OK thanks for that. I can get the piston to push in just a little. Here are some pictures I thought there should be an O ring on there and I have scoring in the servo lid
Attached Images
File Type: jpg DSCN7930.jpg (84.5 KB, 27 views)
File Type: jpg DSCN7929.jpg (88.5 KB, 22 views)
File Type: jpg DSCN7928.jpg (82.9 KB, 24 views)
598BroncoBeast is offline  
post #5 of 17 (permalink) Old 03-29-2019, 04:07 AM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Australia
Posts: 2,250
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 41 Post(s)
 
Quote:
Originally Posted by 598BroncoBeast View Post
OK thanks for that. I can get the piston to push in just a little. Here are some pictures I thought there should be an O ring on there and I have scoring in the servo lid
What servo is that? Sure looks like itís stuck in. There is usually a seal on that piston but sometimes it is removed to give more apply area.

Yes the R servo refers to the piston size. Looking at yours , looks like the piston is running in the case bore? If so it might already be an R.
If so it might be a Sonnax. If so that large land on the piston needs machining. Every one Iíve ever fitted needed machining. It might be stuck in the bore ?
If it is a Sonnax they come with light springs.
gregaust is offline  
post #6 of 17 (permalink) Old 03-29-2019, 04:09 AM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Australia
Posts: 2,250
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 41 Post(s)
 
Looking again I just saw the case plugged. That has been modified to run the large apply. If it is a R servo IMO you’d be better running it as it should be.

As for band I like the wide 2.5” band with red lining.
gregaust is offline  
post #7 of 17 (permalink) Old 03-29-2019, 12:46 PM
Senior Member
 
stuarta's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Moose Jaw Saskatchewan Canada
Posts: 383
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
 
Give the steel portion of the piston a good smack with a hammer. Put a chisel in the slot. Once it is out you will see what happened.

Wrench twister since 1957.
Journeyman in 1964.
Transmission builder since 1964.
stuarta is offline  
post #8 of 17 (permalink) Old 03-29-2019, 06:59 PM Thread Starter
Member
 
598BroncoBeast's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Phoenix
Posts: 189
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 17 Post(s)
 
OK with a lot of wiggling and a little help with a wrench it came out. So I think this is where Frank says to machine .007 out of the groove. It goes in and out fine without the o ring.

Pat
Attached Images
File Type: jpg DSCN7932.jpg (85.7 KB, 12 views)
598BroncoBeast is offline  
post #9 of 17 (permalink) Old 03-29-2019, 09:53 PM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Australia
Posts: 2,250
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 41 Post(s)
 
You got it Pat. Yes machine the groove. Be sure to test with trans oil for lube. I have found trans assembly lube is too slippery.
gregaust is offline  
post #10 of 17 (permalink) Old 03-29-2019, 09:58 PM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Australia
Posts: 2,250
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 41 Post(s)
 
.007Ē is the go. I usually do small cuts and keep testing and creep up on it. I have ended up a tad under .007Ē sometimes, guess it depends on the case size also.
Attached Images
File Type: jpg FBE64F72-3DC2-4FCA-A4EC-49FAE287857B.jpg (19.4 KB, 14 views)
gregaust is offline  
post #11 of 17 (permalink) Old 03-29-2019, 10:01 PM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Australia
Posts: 2,250
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 41 Post(s)
 
One other thing. Running that large apply is a lot of apply pressure. Iíd be removing that plug and running the servo as it should be.
The valvebody instructions prob called for that mod and with a stock type servo, sure. But the R servo I donít believe you should do it.
gregaust is offline  
post #12 of 17 (permalink) Old 03-30-2019, 08:47 AM Thread Starter
Member
 
598BroncoBeast's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Phoenix
Posts: 189
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 17 Post(s)
 
Thanks a lot I am looking for the plug I don't see it yet must be in my face if you see it in the picture
598BroncoBeast is offline  
post #13 of 17 (permalink) Old 03-30-2019, 09:34 AM
Senior Member
 
aquartlow's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 447
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 24 Post(s)
 
Not sure if this will help or be applicable, but the Superior brand "super servo" requires no machine work, mirrors the factory R servo. Found one for under $100
https://www.ebay.com/itm/Superior-K0...i:372637949596

https://superiortransmission.com/product/superior-k016/

I use this servo and E lever in my C6 and have absolutely no complaints.
gregaust likes this.

www.supermotors.net/22468

Yeah, it's a hybrid...It burns gas and tires.

No matter how good she looks somebody, somewhere is tired of her sh#t.
aquartlow is offline  
post #14 of 17 (permalink) Old 03-30-2019, 10:00 AM Thread Starter
Member
 
598BroncoBeast's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Phoenix
Posts: 189
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 17 Post(s)
 
Thanks I'll check it out. I do have the E lever
598BroncoBeast is offline  
post #15 of 17 (permalink) Old 03-31-2019, 12:41 AM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Australia
Posts: 2,250
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 41 Post(s)
 
Quote:
Originally Posted by 598BroncoBeast View Post
Thanks a lot I am looking for the plug I don't see it yet must be in my face if you see it in the picture
There is a port between the two rear servo bolts. Sure looks like an Allen plug? That port is usually plugged when doing that mod removing the outer seal.
gregaust is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the 460 Ford Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in










Thread Tools Search this Thread
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
broken rod and broken dreams jrbeane67 Engine Tech 2 03-06-2009 08:48 PM
72 / 79 intermediate 460 installation mounts etc. Parting... The Mad Porter The Auction Block 0 12-08-2008 02:13 PM
FAST dual wide band o2 sensor harleydave Engine Tech 0 05-05-2006 09:57 PM
Flat spot in the power band.. P.Lafferty Engine Tech 4 04-10-2006 10:53 PM
OT - Has anyone tuned with a wide band 02 sensor like LM-1? Jdean Engine Tech 15 02-28-2006 10:04 PM

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome