Switching servos - 460 Ford Forum
Driveline Discuss Driveline & Related Components.

User Tag List

 
LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
post #1 of 11 (permalink) Old 05-10-2019, 08:49 PM Thread Starter
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2019
Posts: 25
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
 
Switching servos

I currently have an S Servo in my c6. The trans had a b and m shift kit and a 3500 stall converter. I’m going to rebuild the trans here soon do to some slipping in 3rd gear. The shifts are firm and it all seems to work fine except when I’m cruising I notice I have to keep giving it throttle to keep goin when it’s warmed up. My question is should I change to an R Servo is it worth it and what else needs to be changed to accommodate an R servo.
1979_F100 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 11 (permalink) Old 05-11-2019, 04:09 AM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Australia
Posts: 2,268
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 43 Post(s)
 
If you were happy with the shift firmness before then not a lot to be gained. The S has a fairly small apply. There are other factory servo like a D or L or P that work well with bit bigger apply.
Yes the R is even bigger again.
Not quite sure what you mean have to keep giving it throttle, is that really a trans issue?
gregaust is offline  
post #3 of 11 (permalink) Old 05-11-2019, 02:02 PM Thread Starter
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2019
Posts: 25
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
 
When cruising down the highway it feels like I loose momentum. My rpms don’t change so I give it throttle and I speed up but it feels like the transmission is slipping. If I lay into it hard I can feel something isn’t right, it doesn’t go like it should it will make a pulsing vibration if that makes any sense. It has a 460 with a turbo so when it spools up I have engine power but doesn’t seem to be getting to the wheels.
1979_F100 is offline  
 
post #4 of 11 (permalink) Old 05-11-2019, 11:41 PM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Australia
Posts: 2,268
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 43 Post(s)
 
What torque converter ? Was it built for the turbo? Sounds a little like the torque might be blowing through the converter .
Assuming oil looks ok ?
gregaust is offline  
post #5 of 11 (permalink) Old 05-12-2019, 02:25 PM Thread Starter
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2019
Posts: 25
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
 
I bought the truck as is but I looked at the converter through the dust cover and it looks like a standard converter shell not painted like an aftermarket one might be. Is there a way to check if it was built? And the oil in the trans has some fine metallic flakes I noticed on the dipstick
1979_F100 is offline  
post #6 of 11 (permalink) Old 05-12-2019, 02:26 PM Thread Starter
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2019
Posts: 25
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
 
The fluid isn’t burnt it’s nice and red like new fluid
1979_F100 is offline  
post #7 of 11 (permalink) Old 05-12-2019, 08:23 PM Thread Starter
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2019
Posts: 25
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
 
Would it be feasible to put in a 2400-2600 rpm stall converter in? Would like to be able to drive it in the highway. I think the previous owner built this rig for pulling a sled and never planned on getting out of first gear.
1979_F100 is offline  
post #8 of 11 (permalink) Old 05-13-2019, 03:46 AM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Australia
Posts: 2,268
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 43 Post(s)
 
At this stage a converter change is prob a good move . A stock converter would be struggling to hold the torque with the turbo.

Since the oil is good and assuming there's not excess junk in the pan it's worth a try
gregaust is offline  
post #9 of 11 (permalink) Old 05-13-2019, 08:27 AM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Sioux City,Ia
Posts: 469
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 97 Post(s)
 
Quote:
Originally Posted by gregaust View Post
At this stage a converter change is prob a good move . A stock converter would be struggling to hold the torque with the turbo.

Since the oil is good and assuming there's not excess junk in the pan it's worth a try
I don't know,Greg.The OP said there was some metal on the dipstick oil and from the vague description,the trans might be slipping.You might end up filling a new converter with debris. If it were mine,I would do a refresh before buying a converter. JMO
thermod is offline  
post #10 of 11 (permalink) Old 05-13-2019, 11:26 AM Thread Starter
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2019
Posts: 25
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
 
I’m wondering if the metal flakes came from the converter itself from not operating correctly. I have a rebuild kit for the trans so I may as well do it while it’s down. And if I were to change the converter what stall should I put in?
1979_F100 is offline  
post #11 of 11 (permalink) Old 05-13-2019, 01:46 PM
Senior Member
 
aquartlow's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 452
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 25 Post(s)
 
I had an issue with my C6 that was just not right at upshift points and had a pulsating feeling while driving steady, I found this carnage that happened to the VB separator plate @ the converter check ball/valve orifice. I mistakenly installed the check ball instead of the valve, the results from that mistake are shown below. The early C6 VB's used the check ball, the later ones replaced the CB with the check valve, probably due to more contact surface area from the valve.






Hope this helps.

www.supermotors.net/22468

Yeah, it's a hybrid...It burns gas and tires.

No matter how good she looks somebody, somewhere is tired of her sh#t.
aquartlow is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the 460 Ford Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in










Thread Tools Search this Thread
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Guys that have modified their Sonnax servos...... F100cleveland General Tech 5 07-07-2009 09:41 AM
switching from 1.7 rockers to 1.8 9SECCOMET Engine Tech 5 06-08-2008 05:03 AM
thinking about switching to mech flat tappet 63boxtop Engine Tech 16 03-29-2007 11:41 PM
Switching iron CJ intake to B.T. 2-4 John C. Heim Engine Tech 2 11-28-2006 05:13 PM
thinking about switching to methanol but... strokedmyford Engine Tech 23 10-29-2006 07:41 PM

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome