What size carbs? - 460 Ford Forum
General Race Tech All other topics, such as Fuel Delivery, Ignition, Engine, Safety, Data Aquisition, Suspension, etc...

User Tag List

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
post #1 of 19 (permalink) Old 10-22-2010, 09:02 PM Thread Starter
Member
 
hotrod9's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Meridian, Id.
Posts: 86
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
 
What size carbs?

I'm thinking I need bigger carbs currently have 2 750's, what do you guys think?

521 ci
ported a-429
13-1 comp
.720" lift 265-270 [email protected] solid roller
drag race only

Ed Cutler
532 BBF Vega [email protected]
hotrod9 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 19 (permalink) Old 10-24-2010, 07:45 AM
Senior Member
 
crittersf1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: newport NC
Posts: 4,607
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 12 Post(s)
 
Send a message via AIM to crittersf1 Send a message via MSN to crittersf1 Send a message via Yahoo to crittersf1
What makes you think they need to be bigger? Possibly just a tune problem.

If you're not living on the edge you're taking up too much space!
crittersf1 is offline  
post #3 of 19 (permalink) Old 10-24-2010, 12:41 PM Thread Starter
Member
 
hotrod9's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Meridian, Id.
Posts: 86
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
 
It's always been a little lazy after the 1000 ft mark , you might be right about the tune.
Right now the carbs are 6109 holleys with proform bodies. Would using some billet metering plates help with these carbs. Old tech vs. new tech?

Ed Cutler
532 BBF Vega [email protected]
hotrod9 is offline  
 
post #4 of 19 (permalink) Old 10-25-2010, 02:07 AM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 373
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
 
couldn't you just put a vacuum gauge on it?
bbfhnj is offline  
post #5 of 19 (permalink) Old 10-25-2010, 08:21 AM
Senior Member
 
crittersf1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: newport NC
Posts: 4,607
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 12 Post(s)
 
Send a message via AIM to crittersf1 Send a message via MSN to crittersf1 Send a message via Yahoo to crittersf1
What RPM are you seeing at the 1000 ft mark? To be honest I'd think that two 750's should be enough for your combination, if they truly flow 750 a piece.

If you're not living on the edge you're taking up too much space!
crittersf1 is offline  
post #6 of 19 (permalink) Old 10-26-2010, 05:19 PM Thread Starter
Member
 
hotrod9's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Meridian, Id.
Posts: 86
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
 
no vacuum port on the manifold , around 6400 at the 1000 ft mark (best quess) and 6700 at the traps. 72,73 jets 36 deg. timing total

Ed Cutler
532 BBF Vega [email protected]
hotrod9 is offline  
post #7 of 19 (permalink) Old 10-27-2010, 07:09 AM
Senior Member
 
crittersf1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: newport NC
Posts: 4,607
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 12 Post(s)
 
Send a message via AIM to crittersf1 Send a message via MSN to crittersf1 Send a message via Yahoo to crittersf1
Jets seem to be awful small, I'd try jetting up.

If you're not living on the edge you're taking up too much space!
crittersf1 is offline  
post #8 of 19 (permalink) Old 10-27-2010, 11:12 AM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Chandler, Az
Posts: 750
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
 
Fuel system keeping up?

68 coupe, 557+glide...
http://members.cox.net/darkknight302/68nwrear.jpg
84 Gt 'vert, 95 engine, AFR 165's, stock cam, performer with 600 holley
[email protected] in the AZ summer heat
GaryH is offline  
post #9 of 19 (permalink) Old 10-27-2010, 07:29 PM Thread Starter
Member
 
hotrod9's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Meridian, Id.
Posts: 86
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
 
have tried jetting up and down. Fuel pump delivers 1 gal. in 18 seconds, mallory 250 pump.
Main line pressure is at 18 to 24 psi depending on voltage, regulated to 8 at the carbs.

Ed Cutler
532 BBF Vega [email protected]
hotrod9 is offline  
post #10 of 19 (permalink) Old 10-29-2010, 08:24 PM
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 28
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
 
two 750's is not the same as one 1500 cfm carb, what ever your motor willl take with one carb double it
hoyt is offline  
post #11 of 19 (permalink) Old 10-29-2010, 08:41 PM
Senior Member
 
DJOHAGIN's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Santa Clara, CA
Posts: 2,671
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8 Post(s)
 
Your current carbs are done around 5800-6000 rpm on your combo. While the engine will rev higher, the engine will just flat-line, power wise, after 6000 rpm. You need a pair of 1050 Dominators. You can see anywhere from 60-100 hp more with the larger carbs.

Feed the beast.

Hope that helps,

Dave
DJOHAGIN is offline  
post #12 of 19 (permalink) Old 10-30-2010, 01:14 PM Thread Starter
Member
 
hotrod9's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Meridian, Id.
Posts: 86
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
 
Do you think that some 4150 carbs that flow 1000 cfm would work as well? Tunnel ram is for 4150 carbs only, no removable top. Also the expense of plumbing, air pan, linkage ect.
Or would this just be a waste of time, I guess I could go with a different manifold and run just one large dommy

Ed Cutler
532 BBF Vega [email protected]
hotrod9 is offline  
post #13 of 19 (permalink) Old 10-31-2010, 09:46 AM
Senior Member
 
BOSS 429's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: ILL
Posts: 3,681
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 187 Post(s)
 
Do you think that some 4150 carbs that flow 1000 cfm would work as well? quote;






no

RICH
CIRCLE (R) 815 712 8738
--------------------------------
BUY,SELL, or TRADE BBF parts
Dynoed or Test STAND RAN
CYLINDER HEAD PORTING
HEAD FLOWING
COMPLETE ENGINES avb
From STOCK to NOT
PRO SYSTEMS CARBS
BOSS 302 351 429 800CI+
BOSS 429 is offline  
post #14 of 19 (permalink) Old 10-31-2010, 10:27 AM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Cuba MO
Posts: 5,316
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 2 Thread(s)
Quoted: 185 Post(s)
 
The carburetors are not too small and slowing down the engine, the camshaft needs more duration than what you're using to get more usable RPM out of a 521 inch engine.

Any sufficiently advanced technology is indistinguishable from magic --Arthur C. Clarke

Dave McLain
McLain's Automotive
DaveMcLain is offline  
post #15 of 19 (permalink) Old 10-31-2010, 11:13 AM Thread Starter
Member
 
hotrod9's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Meridian, Id.
Posts: 86
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
 
How big of a cam can I go with and still be o.k. on carburetion? I know that my heads are a bottle neck they flow 340 in and 238 ex, would changing the cam be mute with these heads?

Ed Cutler
532 BBF Vega [email protected]
hotrod9 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the 460 Ford Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in










Thread Tools Search this Thread
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome