How many quarts? - 460 Ford Forum
General Race Tech All other topics, such as Fuel Delivery, Ignition, Engine, Safety, Data Aquisition, Suspension, etc...

User Tag List

 
LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
post #1 of 9 (permalink) Old 02-10-2012, 05:04 AM Thread Starter
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 32
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
 
How many quarts?

Hi,
I have a 557 drag motor 15:1 and it has a seven quart Canton pan. I was told by some that I should run 9 quarts? I never heard of this before and thought it might causing foaming or other issues??.
I appreciate the help and feed back.
Thank you
dmorgan is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 9 (permalink) Old 06-17-2012, 12:53 AM
Junior Member
 
BoneSaw's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 10
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
 
I always fill it to the top of the oil spout.. Just kidding.
you may be safe with an extra qt, but like you said about foaming, dont wanna go with too much more than the pan is intended for. perhaps you could get a bigger pan, or modify your existing pan. not sure what your running it in, or how much more room you have for a bigger pan. I run a 9 qt pan and run 10 qts, but also have an external oberg oil filter, so the hoses make up for the extra oil.
Good luck
BoneSaw is offline  
post #3 of 9 (permalink) Old 06-20-2012, 08:15 PM
Super Moderator
 
MrScharfenberger's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Georgetown Indiana
Posts: 4,936
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 175 Post(s)
 
I think the guy that told you nine quarts was a Chebby guy. If the pan is a 7 quart pan then run 7 quarts. No sense in making a problem if you are not having one now. I vote for 7 quarts.

Send Questions To: [email protected]
MrScharfenberger is offline  
 
post #4 of 9 (permalink) Old 06-21-2012, 10:34 PM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Dover,n.h.
Posts: 377
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
 
I would contact Canton and ask.I have a 7qt. Moroso that takes 8qts. with filter.(Moroso advertises the pans capacity,not the entire system).

Russ
Dirtybird545 is offline  
post #5 of 9 (permalink) Old 12-01-2012, 08:07 PM
Senior Member
 
turboten5's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Tx
Posts: 486
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
 
but with 7 quart pan when i hit the brakes at the end of the track the oil pressure goes crazy??
turboten5 is offline  
post #6 of 9 (permalink) Old 12-02-2012, 04:23 PM
Senior Member
 
QUICKSHIFT's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: ontario canada
Posts: 374
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 20 Post(s)
 
HV pump?

71 Comet 289/Liberty TL/11.9Xs
84 Cougar HO/T5
77 F250 4x4/466
78 F350 CC hauler/460

Never shoot your mouth off unless your brain is loaded!
If you're not laughing....you're not living!
QUICKSHIFT is offline  
post #7 of 9 (permalink) Old 12-02-2012, 04:32 PM
Senior Member
 
turboten5's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Tx
Posts: 486
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
 
Quote:
Originally Posted by QUICKSHIFT View Post
HV pump?
kasse
turboten5 is offline  
post #8 of 9 (permalink) Old 12-23-2012, 09:18 AM
Senior Member
 
DJOHAGIN's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Santa Clara, CA
Posts: 2,671
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8 Post(s)
 
One way of taking care of your problem properly:

1) Look under your car, see if you can widen it or make it deeper.

2) Take measurements of areas that can be increased. Make sure you take into account that you have to install and remove the engine with the larger pan.

3) Remove oil pan and send to Armando's Racing Oil Pans., http://www.aroilpans.com/ .

4) Have Armando increase the size, add drag race baffling, make a new custom oil pump pick-up and screen. Send your oil pump with the pan.

While the above is not cheap, you will not have any further problems, and you don't risk damaging your engine from lack of oil. You have a serious race motor, and the store bought oil pan needs modification to keep up.

Hope that helps,

Dave
DJOHAGIN is offline  
post #9 of 9 (permalink) Old 12-27-2012, 07:03 PM
Senior Member
 
cool40's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: my house
Posts: 584
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
 
Garage
you may have a hard time with psi issues on the shut down.i've ran a few chassis pans and never had one work well.
cool40 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the 460 Ford Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in










Thread Tools Search this Thread
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome