what waterpump are you running with ur engine plate?? - 460 Ford Forum
General Race Tech All other topics, such as Fuel Delivery, Ignition, Engine, Safety, Data Aquisition, Suspension, etc...

User Tag List

 
LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
post #1 of 14 (permalink) Old 06-23-2012, 08:30 PM Thread Starter
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Wadena sask .Canada
Posts: 83
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
 
what waterpump are you running with ur engine plate??

well im running a moroso 63595 on my car and it S#@T the bed today after 30 passes. what should i look at for the next one or should i go with the same thing ???? i know there a quality pump
538stang is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 14 (permalink) Old 06-23-2012, 08:50 PM
Super Moderator
 
MrScharfenberger's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Georgetown Indiana
Posts: 4,936
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 175 Post(s)
 
I have a CSR. I've been running it for years with ZERO issues. Plus it is aluminium art.

http://www.summitracing.com/parts/CSI-904C/?rtype=10

Send Questions To: [email protected]
MrScharfenberger is offline  
post #3 of 14 (permalink) Old 06-24-2012, 10:23 AM Thread Starter
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Wadena sask .Canada
Posts: 83
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
 
with the front engine plate do you need the backing plate for the csr pump
538stang is offline  
 
post #4 of 14 (permalink) Old 06-24-2012, 01:20 PM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: WAY up in the U.P. of M.I.
Posts: 876
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
 
I have a Meziere. Very nice piece. But not to cheap!

557ci 70 Maverick, [email protected] 1.25 60ft.... So far....
A70Maverick is offline  
post #5 of 14 (permalink) Old 06-24-2012, 02:43 PM
Super Moderator
 
MrScharfenberger's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Georgetown Indiana
Posts: 4,936
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 175 Post(s)
 
Quote:
Originally Posted by 538stang View Post
with the front engine plate do you need the backing plate for the csr pump
It has been a while since I put it on but I believe so because of the O ring seal between the backing plate & the pump.

Send Questions To: [email protected]
MrScharfenberger is offline  
post #6 of 14 (permalink) Old 06-24-2012, 05:18 PM Thread Starter
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Wadena sask .Canada
Posts: 83
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
 
im goin to have to do some investigating . i want something i can change without taking all the water pump bolts out off the plate .... beside getting a remote mount and spending to much more on lines&fitting .
538stang is offline  
post #7 of 14 (permalink) Old 06-24-2012, 05:59 PM
Super Moderator
 
MrScharfenberger's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Georgetown Indiana
Posts: 4,936
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 175 Post(s)
 
Quote:
Originally Posted by 538stang View Post
im goin to have to do some investigating . i want something i can change without taking all the water pump bolts out off the plate .... beside getting a remote mount and spending to much more on lines&fitting .
You can take the CSR pump off by removing 4 bolts. And they are not the bolts that hold the backing plate on or go through the timing cover in any way. The electric pump detaches from the rest of the mechanism with 4 bolts.

Send Questions To: [email protected]
MrScharfenberger is offline  
post #8 of 14 (permalink) Old 06-24-2012, 09:14 PM Thread Starter
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Wadena sask .Canada
Posts: 83
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
 
you see the cars running the belt drive and they dont run the backing plate they just bolt it to the engine plate .. think ill call csr tomorrow and see what they say .
538stang is offline  
post #9 of 14 (permalink) Old 06-25-2012, 05:58 AM
Super Moderator
 
MrScharfenberger's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Georgetown Indiana
Posts: 4,936
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 175 Post(s)
 
Quote:
Originally Posted by 538stang View Post
you see the cars running the belt drive and they dont run the backing plate they just bolt it to the engine plate .. think ill call csr tomorrow and see what they say .
It could very well work like that. The more I think about it I think that the backing plate is flat on the front and that would be the same as the motor plate.

Send Questions To: [email protected]
MrScharfenberger is offline  
post #10 of 14 (permalink) Old 06-25-2012, 01:21 PM
Senior Member
 
kjett's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Springfield, VA
Posts: 2,387
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 17 Post(s)
 
I run the CSR pump and it's been working great in the mud that my truck sees. I swapped motor plates as the original had the cutout for the stock style pump and since I didn't want to run the extra bolt in plate that would be needed, I got a plate from S&W racecars that didn't have the center hole. Makes for a cleaner look to me.
kjett is offline  
post #11 of 14 (permalink) Old 06-25-2012, 09:04 PM Thread Starter
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Wadena sask .Canada
Posts: 83
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
 
got it apart, the pump was rubbing against the backing plate . glad i work in a machine shop ill lazer cut a new plate outta 12gauge. pump is still working was just hung up.
538stang is offline  
post #12 of 14 (permalink) Old 06-25-2012, 09:56 PM
Super Moderator
 
MrScharfenberger's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Georgetown Indiana
Posts: 4,936
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 175 Post(s)
 
Well that is good news. Does it just look like a manufacturing issues? Kind of weird that it would contact the backing plate like that.

Send Questions To: [email protected]
MrScharfenberger is offline  
post #13 of 14 (permalink) Old 06-26-2012, 12:00 AM Thread Starter
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Wadena sask .Canada
Posts: 83
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
 
found more out, you have to mill the engine plate .20 . so the impleller clears properly .i take the blame on this one ...
538stang is offline  
post #14 of 14 (permalink) Old 06-26-2012, 08:20 AM
Member
 
jackazzflatz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Manistee,MI
Posts: 57
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
 
When i made my motor plate, used my old router to "mill" out the clearance for the impeller. Ya needta go SLOW, but it workx.
jackazzflatz is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the 460 Ford Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in










Thread Tools Search this Thread
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome