Race Talk Tech and Non Tech Discussion

User Tag List

LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
post #1 of 6 (permalink) Old 10-11-2011, 11:25 PM Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)

385 series Big Blocks with 4 speed trans

Just wanting to see how many people running the 385 series engines are racing with 4 speed transmissions.
We are using a Jerico 4 Speed in our 3480lb car with a best et of 9.32 @ 144.77
and 1.251 in the 60.

What else is out there?
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 6 (permalink) Old 10-12-2011, 07:13 PM

Quoted: 12 Post(s)

Send a message via Yahoo to NITROUS FORD
Smile

Got a 466 with a doug nash 5 speed trans a429 heads ported, single plane intake victor,12.5 comp
in a guted out notch back mustang about (2700lbs) and a Nos big shot plate for some hard headed chevy boys!
post #3 of 6 (permalink) Old 10-14-2011, 09:17 PM

I have been running a proshifted toploader in my car for 30 years. There are a few tricks to make it live, and these same tricks apply to any stick car. The Jerico is based off a toploader design with a lot of the toploader issues fixed. I'm going to guess you are having input breakage or shearing gear teeth on the input or cluster gear. Without knowing your combo, i can't suggest a gear ratio, but you need to select a combo that has the thickest gear tooth on both the input and cluster gears, then adjust your rear gear and tire size to get back to the desired overall gearing. Also, your clutch set-up will mean everything to breakage. A hard hitting clutch will break an anvil and stand the car on the bumper. There are a lot of options on clutches. The guys at RAM always did a great job for me. I am currently running a sintered iron dual disc with bronze inserts on the flywheel and pressure plate. base pressure is dependant on track conditions, but is in the 400-600 lb range. If you want to get away from these types of transmissions (cluster under main shaft, face or o