2Likes
  • 2 Post By MrScharfenberger

LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
post #1 of 8 (permalink) Old 04-14-2017, 05:18 PM Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)

First time at the races!

So tomorrow I'm off to a RWYB then its race days on Sunday & Monday (yes two rounds) at a local sportsman track. I'm hoping to enter the 'Super Stock' and 'Sportsman' classes. It's my first time doing this, something I wanted to do 30 years ago but couldn't afford.

Just got car ready today with line lock, safety loop etc. It's not really tuned yet though it runs ok. Should be an entertaining weekend if the weather co-operates.

72 Mach1 has 69 Galaxie XL motor with mild cam (about 220 @ 50 thou & .520" lift) , headers, 750vs on a Torker & a toploader with aluminum flywheel, Hays clutch & Lakewood bell. Feels fast on the road but the timeslips will tell...
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 8 (permalink) Old 04-14-2017, 11:02 PM

Quoted: 67 Post(s)

Garage
Post em when you get em
post #3 of 8 (permalink) Old 04-15-2017, 02:35 PM

Quoted: 12 Post(s)

Good Luck

Four sons & three 1969 mustangs, Life is GOOD !!!
My biggest fear is that when I die, my wife will sell all my cars & race parts for what I told her I paid for them !!!

post #4 of 8 (permalink) Old 06-03-2017, 05:19 PM Thread Starter

Results so far...

At first event I was traction limited on my 255/55/17 street tyres. Best ET 14.6 with 2.3 sec 60ft times leaving like a granny. Often lost traction in 2nd too & the car moved around a bit. I didn't realise a 14 sec pass could be so interesting. Mph went up from 93 to 97 after I changed primary jets from 70 to to 74.
First round I was up against a 10s Chevy pickup so 4 sec head start! I left ok, they stormed past me before the finish but they had redlit and broken out! Yay my first round win!