460 Ford Forum banner

1 - 20 of 28 Posts

·
Registered
17 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello everyone
I am brand-new to this forum, but I've been running a '69 Lincoln 460 in my '71 Mach I for 38 years.
There are not many other people running 460s in England. It's a great motor, but it does vibrate quite a lot.
I would like to hear from anyone who has fitted a Fluidampr harmonic balancer #720201 to one of these engines.
Specifically, will the Fluidampr work with the infamous crank-mounted power steering pump?
If not, does the Ford Motorsport harmonic balancer #M-6316-A460 work with the P/S pump?
Or do I have to reconfigure the whole front of the engine to get a decent modern damper?
Any advice would be gratefully received, before I lay out my hard-earned Dollars!
Thanks

·
Registered
509 Posts
If you're changing dampers,everything must be changed,pulleys,brackets,water pump,timing cover,and the ps pump itself.You will then be using a longer water pump which probably will cause clearance problems with the radiator.I really doubt the damper is your vibration problem.I would be looking at the flywheel-flexplate on back first.

·
Premium Member
8,734 Posts
If the engine is not missing then you had better check to see if the flexplate is weighted.

Has the engine ever been opened and overhauled?

SJ
used 2b RHP

·
Registered
17 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
Thanks for the input, guys.
I've had the engine apart several times.
The flywheel was skimmed and balanced during the first rebuild in 1983.
The entire reciprocating assembly has been checked every time I have changed components.