460 Ford Forum banner

1 - 20 of 24 Posts

·
Registered
127 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Might be interested in one of the new forged 4340 steel BBF 4.5 cranks. What do you have and pricing? Anyone have any feedback on these pieces. Thanks Jim

·
Registered
127 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
4.500 Crank

Thanks for the offer, but I can have one shipped to my door for that.
Thanks Jim

·
Registered
792 Posts
The proper response to that is simply to recommend that he purchase it from his low cost source.

It does not matter who is cheapest - that is a silly game to play and nobody really wins in the end because the cheapest guy usually goes out of business....

·
Registered
128 Posts
He's probably looking at the Hawks stuff on ebay. While I have no personal experience with the Hawks cranks I've seen several people mention that their tolerances aren't quite what they should be and they take more work to balance. So while you may save a hundred or so dollars on the crank you quite possibly will spend that (if not more) in machine work and balancing. To my knowledge all the 4340 cranks are using the same blanks right now but they don't all use the same shop to machine them. I waited 2 months on my backordered crank for this very reason, when I could have placed a bid and had one on my door step in a week. Just my 2 cents but sometimes you get what you pay for.

·
Registered
127 Posts
Discussion Starter #8
4.500 Crank Info

Thanks for your response and info guys. I'm not playing games and not trying to win any contest. I know that these BBF 4340 cranks are relatively new on the market and like a lot of other pieces out there being imported from China. It doesn't take a rocket scientist to figure out that they are all pretty much coming from the same source. It doesn't make sense to pay more from one vendor than another that has the same piece. Thanks Jim

·
Registered
169 Posts
Cheap?