460 Ford Forum banner

1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello All,
I am new to the 460ford.com. My name is Eric I live in Tampa, Florida. I recently bought a 72 F100 XLT that had a 302 with a t 18 tranny installed. Ran poorly so I snatched it out put a spare 289 w/ a thumper cam and having some head issue currently, however I just bought a 71 429 with the dreaded d2ve heads on it. I bought a c6 tranny for it and plan on a rebuild and shift solenoid. I tore it down this past weekend and took to machine shop to see if block was good. They advised me i have to bore .60 over and I am wondering ;

1. Which kit I should select and some suggestions in regards to the rotating assembly as there are so many kits out there.
2. As well I am seeking some heads that could handle a possible 545 stroker kit with a decent cam.

Any input would be great as I am new to the BBF work and have been a SBF guy my whole life. Appreciate all input seems like a great community of people, excited to get rolling on this. As for a budget I would like to build this as affordable as possible, so a budget friendly amount I know a kit approx is going to run the 1 to 2k and heads 1 to 2k plus machine work. Just looking for people whom have past experience or input that can help guide me to build a quality hot rod without spending the money where it isnt extremely necessary.

·
Registered
93 Posts
Hello All,
I am new to the 460ford.com. My name is Eric I live in Tampa, Florida. I recently bought a 72 F100 XLT that had a 302 with a t 18 tranny installed. Ran poorly so I snatched it out put a spare 289 w/ a thumper cam and having some head issue currently, however I just bought a 71 429 with the dreaded d2ve heads on it. I bought a c6 tranny for it and plan on a rebuild and shift solenoid. I tore it down this past weekend and took to machine shop to see if block was good. They advised me i have to bore .60 over and I am wondering ;