460 Ford Forum banner

1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi all,
I have been in the process of putting a 1988 (not 100% on the year) 460 into my CJ 7. It was a little rough around the edges so far to get the drivetrain together, but it looks like its going to work out.

I am by no means an expert with stuff like this, but thought it might be a fun swap and almost seemed practical enough since I already had a Ford T-18 in the Jeep.

I was given this motor for free complete with all CA smog, and it was already on an engine stand. I was tired of dealing with the smog game every two years with my Jeep. When I bought it (the Jeep) it had no functioning smog on it and has been a fun one to get past the visual test every year after.

My goal is just really go get the 460 in there and referee'd so I can pass good old California smog without too much trouble. Later down the road if it all works out I am sure I will start playing around with things further.

The steering shaft, is close near the manifold and the power steering pump, but connected and functions...

The brake booster is real close to some solenoids on the motor, but clears as well. if it becomes a problem then it shouldn't be much of an issue to re-locate that.

Jeep is an 1981 CJ7 with the following I have done to it over the years I have had it.

Ford T18 (4spd manual)
Dana 300 with the 4:1 TeraFlex gears.
Dana 30 - Lock right locker - Poison Spider diff cover. - (4.11)
AMC 20 - Full Detroit Locker - Crane diff cover (4.11)
(rotated the pinion angle up a few degrees to give some ground clearance and help line up drivetrain with the lift. )
Poison Spider sliders and corner pannel body armor.
Sping-over (lift) with stock CJ springs.
Pretty substantial Traction Bar
44 high top knuckles / Conv for high steer to raise up as much steering components to help avoid the rocks..
YJ Brake Booster (Huge improvment over CJ one, Locks up the 35"s)
35" BFG MT's
Upgraded Double CV Rear driveshaft.