460 Ford Forum banner

1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
15 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello, I’m new to the 460Ford. I visit other forums, but I’ve been told this was probably the best to help me with my current project. I will try to keep it short and simple. I have a ‘77F100 running a 302. I’ve did a little work to the 302 and it’s a pretty strong engine and I’ve decided to put it in a mustang and drop a 460 in the F100. I picked up a 460 w/transmission out of a ’76 Lincoln Continental about two weeks ago. He started the engine up and it runs fine, just needs a good cleaning up, rusty freeze plugs, and stuff like that. I want to dissemble and clean it up real good and paint the block, but I hate to dissemble a good running motor. I have a build in mind but I wanted some opinions on, and also any input on how difficult will this swap be?
Hedman Hedders 89140 PART# HED-89140 SUMMIT
Stock Heads DV3E A2A
Stock Bottom End
Edelbrock Carb 650cfm
Weiand 8012 Intake Summit PART# WND-8012
Comp Cam 265DEH Summit PART# 34-223-4
Brass Freeze Plugs
Pre ’71 Timing Set (I was told that the ’76 has a retarded timing set up)
The truck isn’t used for racing or pulling. It’s just a weekend toy to keep me busy.
It has an electric ignition, so the electrical shouldn’t be a problem. I have a C6 to bolt up to it. I still have to find a drive shaft, and motor mounts for the frame, which I’m having a problem with. I thought I found a set in Advance Auto, but I was told that’s not what I need. Does anyone have a picture of the correct mounts?

·
Super Moderator
4,985 Posts
I fly a 1974 F100.

You don't just need the motor mounts. You also need the mount towers. You won't find the mount towers at an auto parts store. Only a junk yard. You will find the motor mounts though.

L&L products in Rowlett Texas sells a real nice set of mount towers. I own a set. Here is a link to their website:

http://www.landlproducts.com/list.aspx?cID=1