460 Ford Forum banner

1 - 20 of 22 Posts

·
Registered
92 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I've been working on the motor and truck for about 2 years now, Getting close to fire up so I figured I would start a build thread here.
Truck was a 72 2wd with an original tired 390/C6, my plan was to convert to 4x4 with tons for 40s. 460, C6, NP205, HP BJ Dana 60, Sterling 10.25, linked front, coil overs, and so on.

So I started with this tread here to figure out what to do...

I got my parts from my long time friend Randy at driven auto in Phx.

Virgin 76 460 out of a van. And so it began

·
Registered
92 Posts
Discussion Starter #2
After over analyzing everything and some conversations with Scotty, I decided to copy his 425hp recipe, buy parts he recommended through him, and have him port the D3 heads. Looking back this was a great decision as I needed his help and expertise along the way.

Called several local machine shops, picked one, and had block, crank, and rods done.

H612CP pistons w/ 12cc dish, static CR 9.3
213/227 cam for low end grunt to get big heavy truck rolling

I assembled the short block and went to check the piston to deck distance. I asked for 0, shop said they would do .005, I got one of each.
Problem was, measuring the crown at both end indicated the rods were bent. Most quite a bit, so had to do something. I sent the turds with pistons attached to Scotty and he took care of me and swapped out the bent car rods for truck rods.

·
Registered
92 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
D3s got a budget port and valve job. Wanted to do porting myself, bought the instructions but didn't have the time to invest to end up with a inferior job. The cost to machine locally was high, confidence low, so it made sense to pay the mad porter to work his magic.